LibGuides: Video, images and audio: Video

How to find and watch video and audio material

Go to the Library S earch, type a title or a keyword into the Library Search box and click the 'Search button'.
On the search results page, under the Content Type filter, click to select the 'Audio visual' filter.
The list of search results will update to show just audio and video recordings. When you've found the recording you want to watch, select the 'Available online' tab and follow the links to view the material.

Please note that Box of Broadcasts [BoB] contains over 2 million TV and radio broadcasts which are not indexed in Library Online so you will need to search the database directly.

DVDs in the libraries

Browse our large collection of DVDs and CDs. Feature films are kept in the Film Studies collection in the Quiet Study area on Adsetts level 4. All other DVDs and CDs can be found with the books at the relevant shelfmark in the Main collections at Adsetts and Collegiate

You can use Library Search to find media materials. Enter your search terms then Refine results by Content Type to limit to Video / Video Online.

TV programme listings

TRILT: Television & Radio Index for Learning & Teaching This link opens in a new window
TRILT provides extensive information about UK TV and Radio programme content, both transmitted and scheduled for future transmission.
A useful resource for lecturers planning courses.
Listings for approx. 300 TV/Radio channels receivable in UK, including terrestrial, cable and satellite, with regional variations. Developed from BUFVC's TV Index, TRILT massively expands this. Data accumulates at rate of 1.1 million records annually.
Problem connecting? Link to TRILT homepage
TVTiP 1955-1985 This link opens in a new window
Database containing ITV programme listings taken from the London region TV Times magazine. Covers the period: September 1955 - March 1985 only.
Searchable by programme title, performers' names and production staff names. Contains text only, no photographs, advertisements or graphics.

BBC Genome
Project to digitise BBC radio and television listings from the Radio Times magazine, covering the period 1923- 2009

Finding more video resources

These sources contain videos that you can reuse in your university work.

Check the link for details of terms and conditions of use.

anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy with a new Systemic title providing access to 17 modules covering the whole body with over 300 views of 3000 structures. Staff and students of SHU may reproduce images and animations into programmes and onto servers for the sole use of SHU provided that acknowledgement is made to Primal Pictures. No attempt must be made to reproduce any part of the programme and any images and animations must be removed should SHU cancel the subscription. Password for users with firewall problems
BFI Player Free Films This link opens in a new window
See shorts and features, showing the best from the BFI, national and regional archives - including 120 years of Britain on film.
Creative Commons search This link opens in a new window
Multi-search tool for images, video and sound under Creative Commons licences. It includes Flickr, Google Images for images, SoundCloud and Jamendo for music, YouTube for video, and other multimedia search tools.
Do not assume that the results displayed in this search portal are under a Creative Commons licence. You should always check that the work is actually licensed under Creative Commons.
Google Images search This link opens in a new window
Retrieves images from the Web, although many are for viewing purposes only. Use the Advanced search feature to show only those images that are 'free to reuse'.
It is essential to check the copyright on any images you wish to use.
Alexander Street Media Plus This link opens in a new window
This service contains more than 100,000 videos, images, and sound recordings.The collections include: a selection of historic newsreel from British Paramount News, Channel 4 and 5 News, Gaumont British News and Gaumont Graphic Newsreel, ITN, ITV, Reuters, Roving Report and Visnews.8,000 clips from Getty (moving images) and c.12,000 images from Getty (still images),The University of Brighton Design Archives.Wellcome Film with c. 450 titles from 1912 onwards.
It is important to check terms of use before using any of resources as copyright will vary from collection to collection. It is important to check terms of use before using any of resources as copyright will vary from collection to collection.
Moving Image Gateway This link opens in a new window
Moving Image Gateway brings together websites that relate to moving images and sound, and their use in higher and further education. Each site has been evaluated and described by the BUFVC.
The terms of use will vary from website to website. It is important to check out what uses are permitted.

Creating and editing videos

Equipment for creating your own media, such as stills cameras, camcorders and sound recorders, is available to borrow.

You can book editing suites to edit the material you produce. Note that you will need permission from anyone who appears in your work: a sample release form for obtaining permission is available.

Copyright

To copy and use images or video for your own work you must respect any copyright restrictions.

We also have more detailed online guides to help you with Copyright and using Video, Images and Audio.