LibGuides: Art: Video & images

Using video, images and audio

Photo credit: Model Art School © Sheffield Hallam University.

Video and images can be important and useful sources of information in your work, particularly in presentations:

showing something can be better than describing it.
images make for a more interesting and stimulating presentation.

Video, images and audio
The Video, images and audio guide has full details of library resources and support for this area, including advice on copyright.

Box of Broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Contains a permanent archive of content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra. Allows you to preview and save clips.

To access BoB you need to go to login, select your institution in the where are you from box (login using SHU username and password) and then follow the instructions to create an account.
Each user can request up to 20 new recordings (restricted to 5 in a 6hr period) or clips per day. There is no restriction on the number of existing programmes that can be viewed.

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education.This academically-focused system allows staff and students to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.

Tutorials are available here

BFI Player

BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films. The collection focuses on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.

BFI player This link opens in a new window
First time users and previously registered users
You need to start by creating an account or re-registering your account and selecting Sheffield Hallam University as the institution. You then sign in with your email and chosen password afterwards.

When you create an account you agree to BFI's terms of use.

BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films. the focus is on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.
This content is available via a Sheffield Hallam University subscription. We do not have access to the rental content.

Image collections for art

Some media resources, particularly useful for Art

SHIMMER This link opens in a new window
Sheffield Hallam University's images and multi-media database. Over 24,000 images, copyright-cleared for educational use. A variety of subject areas includes art and design, built environment, tourism and leisure, and student degree shows. Search, select, enlarge and export images and their metadata; link to any page in SHIMMER from Blackboard; or create presentations to export en masse to PowerPoint and HTML.
VADS-Visual Arts Data Services This link opens in a new window
Visual arts digital resources with over 100,000 images freely available to UK Higher and Further Education sectors. The collection covers a wide range of visual arts, including fine art, fashion, design, public art, posters. Free - registration required
Material may be duplicated for your research use or educational purposes in electronic or print form. You must obtain permission for any other use.

Public Art Research Archive
The collection is mainly images and related documents of public art works in the Sheffield area. It does include some images of public art works in other parts of the country and a few from overseas

Images of England This link opens in a new window
This resource is a library of 300,000 images of England's listed buildings, recorded at the turn of the 21st century. Images range form lamp posts to lavatories, phone boxes to toll booths, mile stones to gravestones, as well as bridges, historic houses and churches.
You may download and print the low resolution (280 x 420) photographic images for non-commercial private research and study only.

Images from galleries, museums and libraries

Images from the collections of museums, libraries and art galleries.

Google Arts & Culture
EXPLORE COLLECTIONS FROM AROUND THE WORLD WITH GOOGLE ARTS & CULTURE, CREATED BY GOOGLE CULTURAL INSTITUTE.
National Gallery
On-line access to the entire National Gallery permanent collection and long-term loans; the collections are illustrated and described. Search the entire collection or browse by time period or artist.
Tate Online
The website of the Tate Gallery - Tate Britain, Tate Modern, Tate Liverpool and Tate St Ives. Gives details of exhibitions and events. See the Tate Collection button for image links, searchable by artist or subject. There are also links to online events, webcasts and net art.

Art and architecture This link opens in a new window
40,000 digitised images from the paintings and drawing collections of the Courtauld Institute of Art. A free registration service which allows you to build up and save sets of images. Low resolution images may be downloaded and used for non-commercial private or educational use.

British Museum Collection
Images of objects form the range of periods and cultures (Asia, Africa, Americas, Europe, Middle East, Oceania) in the British Museum's collections.

British Library Images Online This link opens in a new window
Thousands of images from the British Library's collections of manuscripts, rare books, maps. The range of images includes illustrations, drawings, paintings and photographs.
Students may download and reuse the low resolution images in their work, but permission must first be obtained from the British Library. The British Library will not charge a fee for student use.
NYPL Digital Gallery (New York Public Library) This link opens in a new window
700,000 images from the New York Public Library's collection, including photographs, posters, prints.
Low resolution images may be downloaded and used for personal, educational, or research purposes. They may not be used for commercial purposes.
Specific requirements about how the image must be acknowledged can be found on the terms and conditions webpage.
Some images require permission from the rights owner. If this applies it is indicated in the 'Rights Notice' statement in the 'Image Details'.

Glasgow School of Art: Archives and Collections
Images from the School's holdings including Mackintosh, Art, Design, Textiles and School Archives.
Guggenheim
A searchable database of artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection.
Museum-Sheffield
Information and images from the collections of Sheffield's museums and galleries.
V&A Collections
Online access to over a half a million images of objects in V&A collections.
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
National Portrait Gallery

Online tutorials

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online educational platform that helps you discover and develop business, technology-related, and creative skills through expert-led course videos.