LibGuides: Art: Journal Databases

Key journal databases for Art

These databases index thousands of journal articles and may also link to the full text.

Art and Design databases on Proquest
A collection of ProQuest's databases covering the Art and Design, including The Vogue full text archive.
Art Full Text (Ebsco)
I’m having a makeover! This database will be changing its interface on Monday 7th July 2025. This means that the database will look different, and some of the features available will change. Make sure you export the contents of your custom folders before the switchover. For more information on these changes, read our new EBSCOhost interface guide: https://tinyurl.com/ebsco2025
Art Full text contains 300 full text journals. Covers art, artists, history of art, design, graphic design, architecture, metalwork, jewellery, cultural policy, visual culture, museums, film.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs on all forms of modern and contemporary art, including installations, video art, computer and electronic art, performance, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, crafts, jewellery, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Updated 6 times a year. 289,000 records.
ARH Net (formerly Arts: Search)
Full text journal article, biographical and abstracting & indexing service.
Comprises:Design Abstracts Retrospective- a retrospective journal abstracting and indexing service ; Arts+Architecture ProFiles - Biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects ; ReVIEW - Full-text 19th and early 20th century fine arts journals
JSTOR
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR is a journal archive and does not include current or recent issues of journals. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.The following collections are available for users at SHU: Arts and Science I,II,III,IV and Arts and Sciences Complement. For lists of titles included in collections, please refer to the JSTOR website http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html .
Art and Architecture archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. Coverage is 1895-2005.

Browse key journals

Browzine allows you to look through key journals in your specialism. Click through to a journal's contents page to access the articles.

It is important to scan key journals in your subject area to keep up to date. The Articles in Press feature displays the most current articles before they have been officially given a volume and issue number. When you have selected a journal, Articles in Press appears on the left, just below the journal cover image.

Newspapers and periodicals

LGBT magazine archive This link opens in a new window
This magazine archive will offer backfiles of many of the key periodicals the LGBT field. Titles will include The Advocate , Gay Times and Gay News and The Pink Paper
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of historic newspapers including The Guardian (1821-2003); Observer (1791-2003); New York Times (1851-2010); Times of India (1838-2004). News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, photos and advertisements in downloadable pdf format.
FT.com This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Financial Times newspaper. Includes an 8 year searchable archive of news articles, as well as a browsable version of today's newspaper (available in 5 different editions: UK, Europe, US, Asia and Mid East).
If you have problems accessing Full text on Ft.com.
- go to Ft.com
- go to My Account and click on Sign out
- close your browser - to clear all your logins
- come back here follow this link to login again.

Multidisciplinary journal databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to a collection of databases. The default search is of the Web of Science Core Collection, which includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index. This enables you to search scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the citation network. By clicking on the drop-down menu next to ‘Search in:’ you can choose to search other databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008), KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary full text database covering business, health and medical, social sciences, education , science and technology, including core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and language and literature. It includes both scholarly journals as well as market research and industry reports, working papers and full-text dissertations.

Important journals

Photo credit: Sheffield Hallam University

It is important to scan the contents of key journals in your subject area on a regular basis to keep up to date with news and developments.

Some important journals:

a-n Artists Information Company This link opens in a new window
a-n Login here for student code
a-n The Artists Information Company a-n is the largest artists’ membership organisation in the UK with over 24,000 members. We support artists and those who work with them in many practical ways, acting on behalf of our membership.

Finding Print Journals and Magazines

The Journals and magazines collection is organised in alphabetical order. Here are some of the Fine Art related journals and magazines available at level 5, at the top of the stairs.

The journals can be used only in the Library, however you can photocopy from them within the limits of copyright.

Aesthetica : the art and culture magazine
Artist
THE BURLINGTON MAGAZINE
New research on Art and its history
DU
Modern Painters
Tate Etc
Public art review
Crafts
British Journal of Photography
Raw Vision
Adbusters
Apollo
The international Art magazine

Art

Key journal databases for Art

Browse key journals

Newspapers and periodicals

Multidisciplinary journal databases

Important journals

Finding Print Journals and Magazines

Find us

Contact us

Information