LibGuides: Construction, Surveying and Real Estate: Home

Welcome to the library subject guide for Construction, Surveying and Real Estate

How can this guide help?

This guide will help you find the books, journals and other information you need when researching for your assignments.

This is an image of Park Hill flats.

Photo credit: Dave Ball, Sheffield Hallam University

How to use the guide

Use the menu on the left hand side of the screen to find out more about specific resources e.g. books, journals and databases.

A picture of books

Welcome to the new guide: Boost your research skills for your Built Environment dissertation.

Each assignment, presentation and piece of group work has been building up your course knowledge, skills and abilities. It is now time to put all that you have learnt into practice and begin your dissertation!

The guide is written to support Built Environment students studying within the Department of Natural & Built Environment.
The dissertation brief for the undergraduate and the MSc dissertation may share common elements but there may be differing levels of complexity required. You must make sure you read and follow your assignment brief to understand what is required for your dissertation.

The guide will help you develop the research skills you need to find high quality and specialist sources relevant to dissertations or projects.

Boost your research skills for your Built Environment dissertation

New books in the Library

Here you can find examples of newly purchased books or eBooks that have found a home in the Library collections.

The contents of this box changes often as we purchase books all year long!

Engaged Urban Pedagogy by Lucy Natarajan (Editor); Michael Short (Editor)
Call Number: This is an eBook and can be accessed in Library Search
ISBN: 9781800081246
Publication Date: 2024
A practical handbook for teaching about the built environment.
Construction Law by Jim Mason
Call Number: Adsetts Library - Main Collection - 343.07869 MAS (LEVEL 3)
ISBN: 9781032462325
Publication Date: 2023
This second edition of 'Construction Law' provides a thorough and comprehensive guide to construction law by blending together black letter law and socio-legal approaches.
Real Estate by Jan Wilcox
Call Number: Adsetts Library - Main Collection - 332.6324 WIL (LEVEL 3)
ISBN: 9780367725433
Publication Date: 2022
Real Estate: The Basics provides an easy-to-read introduction to the core concepts of the industry to students new to the subject or professionals changing direction within the sector.
Introduction to Construction Management by Fred Sherratt; Peter Farrell
Call Number: Adsetts Library - Main Collection - 624.068 SHE (LEVEL 5)
ISBN: 9781032007441
Publication Date: 2022
Introduction to Construction Management is the beginner's guide to key concepts, terms, processes and practices associated with modern construction management.

How can I get more support from the Library?

Get in contact!

Library Chat is 24/7 and is here to help! We also have a range of guides that can help:

Library Chat
How can we help? Ask your library related questions using Library Chat!
Join the team each Wednesday 4pm-5.30pm for Library Online Drop-In
Online drop-ins with members of the library team for instant answers to quick assignment questions. Each session includes a member of staff from Academic Skills, Library & Information Skills, and Maths and Stats for 15 minute one to ones, and there is no need to book in advance.
Talk to a librarian
These are 30 minute bookable one to one appointments with a librarian for queries about finding, managing, evaluating, and referencing information resources.
Library help pages for Library Search
Want to know more about using Library Search? Take a look at this handy help guide!
Referencing at Sheffield Hallam University
To use bold or not to use bold! These pages will help you with citing and referencing.
Develop your skills with the Library: Skills Centre
The Library: Skills Centre offers inclusive academic skills development to all students at SHU. We are currently 100% online. We offer online group sessions, small group feedback seminars, 1-1 appointments and virtual drop-ins for all students to help you to develop your academic skills throughout your studies.