LibGuides: Construction, Surveying and Real Estate: Legal & planning

Construction and property law

Here are a range of sources that can help you find construction and property law.

Estates Gazette Interactive (EGI) This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the weekly Estates gazette newspaper. Registration link.
Includes news updated in real time, commercial property market information, searchable research databases and companies and people information. Also includes the Property Law Service and current employment listings. Searchable news archive. Email news alerts.
Lexis Plus This link opens in a new window
Lexis Plus (previously Lexis Library) contains a wide range of databases of full text legal resources, including statutes, statutory instruments and cases. It provides extensive coverage of English, U.S., Commonwealth and European Union primary and secondary materials. In addition, it provides access to journals and e-books.
Lexis Plus also gives access to information on the following practice areas: company and commercial; employment; family; financial services; litigation; personal injury; private client property; public sector; tax and accountancy, with many full text U.K. journals. Also included is a wide range of UK newspapers.
Practical law This link opens in a new window
A searchable legal database of Practice notes, Standard documents, Standard clauses, Checklists and drafting notes. Includes links to cases and is browsable by UK legal practice category such as Employment and Property.
Legal updates and Expert opinion
Practice notes - explanations of law and practice
Standard documents and clauses with drafting notes e.g. templates for contracts of employment.
Ask - an option to pose a question to staff at Practical Law
Checklists - Quick reference reminders of the law as it applies in practice.
Property Law Service This link opens in a new window
Property Law Service provides full text access to comprehensive and up-to-date information on UK property law.
Provides a property law news service, law reports and case summaries, a claims section, details of all lands tribunal decisions since 1996, and details of property related legislation.
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Westlaw covers the English law reports and selected transcripts of unreported cases and a case citator. It provides the full text of a wide range of UK law journals. You can also access the Legal Journals Index which is an index to 400 UK law journals and Lawtel.
Includes comprehensive coverage of English law reports and selected transcripts of unreported cases and a case citator.
It provides the full text of a wide range of UK law journals.
It also contains the full database of the Legal Journals Index, which is an index to approximately 400 UK law journals.

Health and Safety

Here are a range of sources that can help you find health and safety information.

Health and Safety Executive
The Health and Safety Executive (HSE) is Britain’s national regulator for workplace health and safety.

Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index of journal articles, conference papers, reports and books about risk, safety and public health. Covers aviation, nuclear, medical, occupational and environmental safety, as well as ergonomics, waste disposal, pollution, and epidemics.
As a Proquest database, it allows cross-searching with other Proquest databases and easy export of resources to Refworks.
Occupational Health and Safety Information Service This link opens in a new window
OHSIS is a database of UK legislation, reports, standards, grey literature and other guidance publications to do with workplace safety, safety training and environmental and public health, covering many industries and professions. It also provides health and safety news and legislation updates.
CRONER-i Facilities Management This link opens in a new window
Croner is an online resource primarily aimed at facilities managers, which provides information relating to the management of premises or workspace and legal compliance issues. Topics include building management and maintenance, space planning, health and safety, environmental management and equipment maintenance.

Ordnance Survey Maps online

Here is a really useful source if you need to find or look at map data.

Digimap Ordnance Survey Data Collection This link opens in a new window
An Edina service offering Ordnance Survey maps and map data to UK Higher Education users. Allows users to view and print maps of locations within the UK. Contains a Gazeteer facility. Maps can be dowloaded for use with GIS software. Registration info

Planning

Here are a range of sources that can help you find government, legal and planning information.

Construction Information Service This link opens in a new window
An index and summary of standards, regulatory and advisory documents for the UK construction industry plus their full-text images.
Covers documents essential to the design and construction of buildings, construction management, contract documents, health and safety and design guidance. Also includes a direct link to the Building regulations, the Metric handbook and BS 5588, Fire precautions in buildings together with a link to NBS BRAD. Updated weekly.

Directgov
The place to find UK government information and services.
Department for Levelling Up, Housing & Communities
The Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities supports communities across the UK to thrive, making them great places to live and work.
National Planning Policy Framework for England and planning practice guidance
The National Planning Policy Framework and relevant planning practice guidance.
Planning Permission
The UK Government guidance on planning permissions.
Planning Portal
This is a joint partnership between the Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities and TerraQuest Ltd.