Nursing and Midwifery

These texts introduce you to research methods in Health and Social Care, starting with the basics of research methods, and moving on to topics such as conducting good quality research, ethics, effective research techniques and interpreting your findings.  

In the 'Exploring Research Methods' tab are a couple of really good resources covering all aspects of research methods in Health and Social Care. There are also a couple of useful glossaries of terms used in Healthcare research that are a good introduction to some of the terminology you will hear and read about.

These books are a good starting point for introductions to research methods. It might be useful to read some of them before you begin!

Introduction to Health Research Methods by Kathryn H. Jacobsen

ISBN: 9781284094398

Publication Date: 2020-03-01

"Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the Third Edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods provides a practical, step-by-step guide to conducting quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields. Organized in five sections, the text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research. By breaking the research process down into a series of achievable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods shows students and early career scholars how they can contribute to improving the health of individuals and communities through research"--

The Research Process in Nursing by Kate Gerrish (Editor); Judith Lathlean (Editor); Desmond Cormack (Founded by)

ISBN: 9781118522585

Publication Date: 2015-04-20

Although it is Nursing-based, the information in this book is comprehensive and thorough in scope. It provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice   Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.

Doing your research project by Bell, Judith

ISBN: 0335243398

Publication Date: 2018

This is a really good introduction to doing your research project in Health Sciences. Covers all aspects of research methods.

Exploring Research Methods

The resources in this tab will help you investigate the research methods you encounter, either in your reading or your academic work. You can use them as you are reading your research findings, or look at some of the more overarching resources before you begin your research journey!

Sage Research Methods Cases: Medicine and Health

SAGE Research Methods: Medicine & Health collections cover primary clinical and epidemiological research, both interventional and observational, as well as systematic review and meta-analysis. Examples of studies are drawn from across all major medical specialties, as well as public health, nursing, dentistry, health policy, and services research. Really good for learning about the pros and cons of specific types of research!

Also included is the methods map, which allows you to read definitions of key terminology, and discover content relevant to your research project: Methods Map: http://methods.sagepub.com.hallam.idm.oclc.org/methods-map

BMJ Best Practice: Learn Evidence Based Research 

These articles are intended to introduce the key methods of Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) such as clarifying a clinical question, designing a search and appraising, synthesising and assessing quality of the evidence.

Glossary of ResearchTerms

Sometimes we are faced with a lot of jargon when we are investigating research methods! These resources will help you understand the glossary of terms that are used with research methods and are all from authoritative Health and Social Care sources.

• Useful glossary of research terminology from the National Institute of Health Research 

  This glossary covers all of the terminology you will encounter in Health Research, such as confidence intervals, qualitative studies etc.

• NICE - Glossary of Terms 

  This is also a useful glossary of terms from NICE. The glossary gives brief definitions and explanations of the terms used and describes how NICE guidance is produced.

• PubMed Publication Types - From PubMed: Publication Characteristics (Publication Types) with Scope Notes. Useful definitions of terms used with publications in PubMed, including MeSH.