LibGuides: Hospitality, Tourism and Events management: Research methods, dissertations and extended research reports

Do you want to know more about how the library can help you produce a high quality dissertation or extended project? What research materials are available? How to get help with referencing and organising your reading? This is a brief overview of what the library can help you with for your dissertation.

Take a look at the following below:

Research methodologies and SAGE Research Methods

Sage Research Methods is a methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It is designed to guide users to the content you need to learn a little or a lot about your method.

Need to find a Method? Explore the Methods Map below (click on the image):

Type a method such as "case study" or "focus group" into the widget below to get to books and videos on SAGE Research Methods:

SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Cases is a digital collection of business cases with unlimited access to more than 3,650 authoritative cases from over 100 countries. Does not include access to cases after 2018. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
SAGE Research Methods Books and Reference This link opens in a new window
Titles from SAGE’s book, journal, and reference content in Research Methods. The collection includes nearly 1,000 books and reference works.
It does NOT contain datasets.
SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new window
Research Methods content is often theoretical and abstract and can be difficult to apply to real world scenarios. SAGE Research Methods Cases offers hundreds of case studies of actual research projects from many different disciplines to show how methods are applied. These cases add context to the more theoretical material found in SAGE Research Methods and underscore the nuances and decisions researchers face when designing projects.
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video contains nearly 130 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, users can watch one in action.

Sometimes a concept is hard to grasp through text alone, but by hearing an expert explain it on film and seeing the research technique in action, it becomes clear.

Through these videos students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project

Finding dissertations and theses

Researching similar dissertations is not only a way to ensure that you will be contributing original research to the field, but also a great way to see examples of how other students conducted a literature review and used a particular research methodology. Additionally, you can potentially identify a particular test instrument or theoretical framework appropriate for your study, as well as discover scholarly research articles that you may not have come across in your own research.

EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
Ethos allows you to search for and download electronic theses produced by UK HE institutions. Access to most theses is free but if you are asked for payment please contact the Document Supply Services team for assistance.
You can also request theses that are not yet available electronically. There may then be a delay whilst permission is sought from copyright holders and the text is digitised before you are able to access.Eventually, EThOS should provide access to all theses from participating institutions whether paper based or electronic. However, EThOS can only supply theses from participating institutions.List of participating institutions
ProQuest dissertations and theses global This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of mostly full-text dissertations and theses.
If full-text is not available, use the document delivery service.
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Regularly updated and has over half a million entries. It is based on the print publications: Retrospective Index to Theses (1716 - 1950) and Index to Theses (1950 to date).

Planning, writing your dissertation or extended project

Skills for study This link opens in a new window
Student login procedure
After selecting Student log in, Choose to Continue with your Institution Account. On the first occasion that you log-in you will be asked to create an account, using your student email address name-details@student.shu.ac.uk but afterwards you can simply use the Institutional Account login.

Skills for Study is based on the work of expert Stella Cottrell, international bestselling author of The Study Skills Handbook. Skills for Study uses the best of e-learning technology and the advantages of an interactive platform to engage and develop academic skills.
Includes modules on:
Getting ready for academic study
Reading and note-making
Critical thinking skills
Writing skills
Referencing and understanding plagiarism
Groupwork and presentations
Exam skills
Projects, dissertations and reports
Employability and personal development
Confidence with numbers
Time management

Literature searching and literature reviews

There are many books and websites out there to help with literature searching. Many will be topic specific, so below are some more general resources. If you need help with a specific type of review or topic area then get in touch.

Online / video resources:

Am I the only one struggling to write a literature review: Sage Research Methods. Dr. Zina O'Leary explains the misconceptions and struggles students often have with writing a literature review. She also provides step-by-step guidance on writing a persuasive literature review.
How to conduct an effective literature review: Sage Research Methods. How to conduct an effective literature review using a literature review sketch (17min).
Reviewing the literature: Sage Research Methods. This section takes you through the literature review process, explaining the reasons for reviewing the literature and differentiation between the types of literature available.

Hospitality, Tourism and Events management

On this page

Research methodologies and SAGE Research Methods

Finding dissertations and theses

Planning, writing your dissertation or extended project

Literature searching and literature reviews

Adsetts Library

Collegiate Library

Sheffield Hallam University

City Campus, Howard Street

Sheffield S1 1WB

Accessibility

Legal information

Privacy and GDPR