Information for Academic Staff

Library Services offer for Collaborative Partner Colleges.

In this section we will look at:

• Who do we partner with?
• Student enrolment, Hallam cards and login credentials
• What collaborative arrangements exist..
• The Library Services offer for Collaborative Partner Colleges students.
• Library Services support for academics at Sheffield Hallam.
• Library Services support for academics at the Partner Colleges.

The University currently has partnership arrangements with the following UK Colleges, organisations and School Centred Initial Teacher Training providers.

Colleges:

• Barnsley
• Chesterfield
• Derby
• Doncaster
• Oldham
• RNN Group (Rotherham College, Dearne Valley College and North Nottingham College)
• Sheffield College
• Trafford College (Stockport and Trafford Colleges)
• UCEN Manchester

Organisations:

• Sensory Integration Education
• Royal School of Military Survey

School Centred Initial Teacher Training Providers (SCITTs):

• Bluecoats School Alliance
• Bradford Birth to 19 Teaching School Alliance
• Cumbria Primary Teacher Training
• Huddersfield Horizon School Alliance
• Leeds City Teaching School Alliance
• London East Teacher Training Alliance
• Mersey Borough Initial Teacher Training Partnership
• Silverdale National Modern Languages School Centred Initial Teacher Training
• Swanick School and Sports College
• Yorkshire Three Counties School Alliance

Access to Hallam Library resources is dependent on the students' enrolment category. Students fully enrolled as SHU Students have full access to Hallam Library resources. Students enrolled as UK collaborative students will have access to the partner institutions own library resources, and in addition carefully selected resources from Hallam library.

The enrolment status determines the provision of Hallam IT credentials, which are required to access library resources.

For an explanation of enrolment status and how it applies to collaborative partners, see below.

Students returned to the UK Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA) by Sheffield Hallam as our own students have full access to Hallam Library resources and IT systems, and are classed as fully enrolled. Corporate Client or Employer-Based courses, such as  SCITTs, Teach First, and HDA students, those on the Sensory Integration Education course, students at the Royal School of Military Survey and Doncaster Adult Nursing students are also classed as fully enrolled. Students returned to HESA by the partner institution, are classed as enrolled UK collaborative students and receive access to carefully selected Hallam library resources, as will those who are included in SHU HESA  Aggregate Offshore Return. The latter are classed as enrolled overseas collaborate. 

Further Information about enrolment categories can be found here.

To enrol at Sheffield Hallam, students first need to enrol with the partner college.

• Students enrol with the partner college,
• Partner college collates all students enrolled, and sends details (including passport photo) to Hallam Registry.
• Hallam Registry produces Hallam card. DTS produce login credentials.
• Hallam card is sent to the college for distribution.
• DTS send login credentials and instructions for enrolling to the student's home address.

Please note - the Library is not involved in the enrolment process. Any issues with the availability of Hallam cards or login credentials please contact Registry and/or DTS.

There are several different types of collaborative arrangements.

1. External Validation. This is where Sheffield Hallam considers a programme or module(s) developed, designed and delivered by a partner organisation, and approves the provision as being of an appropriate standard and quality to lead to (or contribute to) a University award. Students normally have a direct contractual relationship with the delivery organisation. Mainly used for collaborative partnership arrangements with UK Further Education college partners and other HE providers without Degree Awarding Powers (DAPs).
2. Franchise. The process by which SHU agrees to authorise a partner organisation to deliver (and sometimes assess) all or part 
   of one (or more) of its (SHU's) own approved programmes. Students normally have a direct contractual 
   relationship with the degree-awarding body. May be used in collaboration with UK FEC partners and overseas 
   partners without DAPs.

Hallam libraries offer for Enrolled UK Collaborative students.

Students who are enrolled UK collaborative have access to carefully selected and licensed library resources. In such cases it is the expectation that the college library will provide the resources required to support the students at the college. In addition, Hallam library provides:

• A Sheffield Hallam card which provides 24/7 access to both campus libraries and entitles the student to borrow up-to five printed resources. Students can access the library buildings and use them for study spaces. Although students will not be able to login to any of the library's computers they will be able to use their own devices to login to the free guest WIFI and access their college online resources.
• Sheffield Hallam login credentials which will give the students access to some Hallam library resources (see below). 
• A Sheffield Hallam Blackboard channel. Students will login to their Sheffield Hallam Blackboard with their Hallam credentials. Here they will find the links to the Hallam library resources which are available to them:.
  • A dedicated library webpage for each partner institute, which directs students to appropriate guides and support. This includes access to open access resources that support the courses taught at the partner institute.
  • Access to Proquest Central. ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 47 of ProQuest's complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. Unlike other resources, ProQuest Central is made up of separate, fully searchable databases which may be used together or separately. Areas covered include Arts and Humanities, Business, Health, Interdisciplinary, News SciTech and Social Sciences.
  • Access to the Library guidance on LinkedIn Learning - an online educational platform providing video courses taught by industry experts in software, creative and business skills. This is the perfect resource to support, for example, using Microsoft products like Word, Excel and Powerpoint. LinkedIn Learning is a part of LinkedIn - the world's largest professional network. Courses completed within LinkedIn Learning will receive a certificate of completion which can be added to a LinkedIn profile. These profiles are regularly used by prospective employers.
  • Access to the library's referencing guidance and Refworks
• Library support through our 24/7 Library Chat service.

Hallam Libraries work closely with Hallam academics and college librarians to support collaborative partner students.

• A member of the Library staff is usually part of validation panels for new partner college courses and attend approval events for new partner colleges.
• Work with academics and partner library staff to ensure that resources required for a course are available in the partner college library.
• Close working relationships with partner college librarians, including holding regular online networking events for partner college librarians. These events provide an opportuning to share experiences and give updates from each partner as well as deliver staff training for the librarians.
• Negotiating with publishers to seek licence extensions for specific resources where it is possible to do so. This can involve additional charges which would need to be met by the University department proposing the course or by the partner college. Licence negotiation needs to be done at a very early stage in the development of the provision/partnership. Access to additional resources also relies on DTS ability to provide suitable login credentials for individual resources.

Hallam Library staff will also work closely with academic tutors at individual colleges. We will:

• Provide Associate Membership access for academic tutors teaching on collaborate courses. This allows the college academics to access the libraries 24/7, access print resources and borrow up to five items. At this time, the Library cannot provide access to electronic resources including e-books, e-journals and journal databases. Access to printing and photocopying is also not currently available.
• Liaise with academic tutors to provide induction visits to the appropriate library for both partner college staff and students.

Further information can be found on our Student and Academic Services page.