Information for Academic Staff

Support for your students.

In this section we will look at how Library Services supports your students.  This section includes:

• Accessing physical library learning spaces, resources and services.
• Supporting students with pre-arrival, induction and extended induction activities.
• Support students with academic skills, library research, and developing digital capabilities.
• Further support for distance and part-time learners, including apprentices.

Every year (both during the September and January student intake) the University organises a 'Hallam Welcome Week' and 'International Marketplace' event for new students.  This is to encourage early engagement in pre-arrival and welcome opportunities.  It is for everyone, and is designed to:  

• Support all students to transition successfully into university life and feel part of the Hallam community, supporting a smooth transition into HE and independent living.
• Inform all students of the opportunities to engage with us and provide an early sense of belonging to the University and their course, encouraging academic and social integration.
• Enable all students to take full advantage of their course and University experience that meets the needs of our diverse student body.  

The Library is very much a part of this collaboration across the University as it is not only a great opportunity for us all to deliver a collaborative welcome experience, but also ensures all students are clear where to get help and support. 

Library Online support for New students - Welcome to your library.

The Essential Skills for Academic Success e-module for new students includes academic skills information for new HE students, a link to complete the SkillsCheck self-assessment tool, and all students receive a digital badge for their LinkedIn profiles upon completion of the resource. You can request access for your cohorts using our online request form, or students can self-enrol at https://libguides.shu.ac.uk/essentialskillsmodule

As well as delivering online workshop sessions introducing students to our extensive Library Services, Library staff are also present at welcome events to speak personally to students about the support the Library can provide to ensure their future success.  Library Services has an Induction Group that organises these events. If you would like more information, please contact your subject librarian. 

The University has two Libraries, Adsetts Library and Collegiate Library. Both are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

• There are over 2450 learning spaces in Collaborative, Quiet and Silent study areas, some spaces can be reserved in advance.
• Library laptop loans are available for one day or one week from both Libraries. 
• Students can borrow up to 25 books at a time for a standard loan period of one week which automatically renew for up to a year (unless requested by another patron) and can place up to 15 requests for material unavailable from the Library's collections from the Document Supply Service.

Find out more about the University's Libraries.

Find out more about booking spaces.

Find out more about Library laptop loans.

Find out more about borrowing, reserving items and postal loans from the Library.

Find out more about resources for Disabled Learners.

Find out more about the Document Supply Service.

Whether your students are off-campus, at home, away or on the move, your Library provides you with a wide range of resources, support and opportunities for your learning and research, available at the point of need anytime anywhere. 

• Further details are available from the Library Guide entitled 'Making the Most of your Library off-campus' - find the link to the guide below.
• Library Services also provides additional support for students on designated distance learning courses e.g.  apprenticeships, or have a referral from their College, or Disabled Student Support or Inclusive Support Team from the Distance Learner Support Service. 
  • This is an opt-in service, students will need to complete and submit a registration form (see link below) before using the service.  Students can request postal loans, extended borrowing and access to book chapters and journal articles not available digitally.  
• For students studying part-time (including apprenticeships) or who are registered as distance learners including postgraduate taught and postgraduate research, there is the SCONUL Access Scheme which allows students to register for membership of another university library. 
• The scheme does not allow students to access another university's computers or digital resources but will provide access to borrow items from their physical collections.  Students may find they can connect to Eduroam wireless network to connect to the WiFi using their own devices when visiting other university libraries. 

Find out more about 'Making the most of your Library off-campus' for students.

Find out more about the Distance Learner Support Service.

Find out more about the SCONUL Access Scheme.

Find out more about using Eduroam wireless network.

Information for staff 
Our staff-only site offers information about support for staff and students, latest news, and how we work.

Research skills incorporate the skills needed to effectively find, evaluate, manage and use information.  Students are offered a Library induction or orientation, either during Welcome Week or as part of an extended induction programme which provides an introduction to using Sheffield Hallam Libraries and library resources.  Further sessions are available from a Subject Librarian (by request or timetabled) and the content includes the following:

• Searching for information using online resources including Library Search, literature databases listed on the Library's Subject Guides, A-Z list of databases and specialist sources such as news, market research, company data, statistics and audio-visual resources.
• Engaging with the module Reading Lists Online (RLO) recognising this list as an indispensable tool that brings together everything students should read.
• In depth comprehensive literature searching, planning and interpreting searches using advance search techniques.
• Evaluating information to assess its quality, relevance and validity.
• Develop an understanding of the research cycle, peer review, open access, and the ethical, appropriate use of AI technologies.
• A Subject Librarian can deliver a tailored, discipline-specific library skills session to support successful completion of a module assessment.
• Subject Librarians also provide support for the Library's virtual support services; Library Chat (available 24 / 7), bookable 1-1 sessions with a Librarian; Introduction to APA 7 Referencing and Getting Started with ProQuest RefWorks.

Find out more about the subject librarians.

Find out more about the range of resources and support available for students through Library Online.

Find out how to signpost students to their subject guides.

Find out about referencing and using reference management software support available for students.

Find out how to signpost students to book a 1-1 appointment with a Librarian through Unihub.

Find out how to guide students to access the 24 / 7, 365 days a year Library Chat service.

Find out how to encourage students to engage with their module RLO.

Find out how to guide students about ethical and appropriate use of AI.

Students are encouraged to develop their digital skills whilst at Hallam University. The Library offer provides students with online and occasional in-person workshop sessions.  These sessions are developed and tailored to be delivered alongside the student’s academic needs and studies. It is also designed to enhance their continuing professional digital development moving forward into their future careers.

LinkedIn Learning (LiL) is an online learning platform with currently over 16,000 on-demand courses to help develop business, technology-related and creative skills.  It is free to all all staff and current students and provides online material which can complement your teaching and staff development.

Digital Skills support for students:

• Student Digital skills support and workshops can be accessed via MyHallam - Hallam digital skills.
• Students can access LinkedIn Learning via MyHallam - LinkedIn Learning.
• Students can also book 1-1s with a Senior Library Administrator for queries around Word, Excel, or PowerPoint presentations, etc. through our 'Talk to an adviser' library page.

For further support from Library Digital Skills please contact:  Lucinda Wakefield - l.m.wakefield@shu.ac.uk

Digital Skills support for staff:

• Support and training for staff can be accessed via the staff 'Digital Skills' Hub
• Staff can access LinkedIn Learning via the staff 'Digital Skills' Hub - LinkedIn Learning page