LibGuides: Law: Journal Databases

On this page, you will find:

Guidance on using journal articles.
Information about BrowZine, a catalogue of electronic journals.
Key journals for Law.

Why you should use journal articles

In academic writing, it is essential to support your discussions and arguments with reliable, published sources. Personal opinions such as 'I believe...' are not sufficient on their own: you must back up your claims with credible evidence from academic literature. This evidence is usually published as an academic journal article. These sources are typically found in academic databases and, in some cases, through platforms like Google Scholar. Using these resources ensures you access high-quality, relevant information. The Library provides these databases in collaboration with your lecturers and academic staff, helping you find the most appropriate materials for your subject area.

Finding Print Journals

The print journal collections can be found at Adsetts level 5, at the top of the stairs.

The collection is stored in alphabetical order according to the first letter of the journal title.

The journals can be used only in the Library, however you can photocopy from them within the limits of copyright.

Using Journal Articles

To explore an area in more detail, you will need to read journals. Journals and periodicals contain articles and are published at regular intervals. Journals are very good for keeping up to date with the latest news and research or for information about a very specific subject.

Cardiff Index

Quite often when looking for journal articles you will find that journal titles are abbreviated - for example the Coventry Law Journal may be referred to as Cov. L.J. The Cardiff Index is a database which allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index. The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals but some other legal publications are also included. The Index is under continuous development with new abbreviations and titles being added on a regular basis.

Example Journals

Cambridge Law Journal
The Cambridge Law Journal publishes articles on all aspects of law. Special emphasis is placed on contemporary developments, but the journal's range includes jurisprudence and legal history. An important feature of the journal is the Case and Comment section, in which members of the Cambridge Law Faculty and other distinguished contributors analyse recent judicial decisions, new legislation and current law reform proposals. The articles and case notes are designed to have the widest appeal to those interested in the law - whether as practitioners, students, teachers, judges or administrators - and to provide an opportunity for them to keep abreast of new ideas and the progress of legal reform. Each issue also contains an extensive section of book reviews.
Modern Law Review
The Modern Law Review is a generalist legal journal founded to ‘deal with the law as it functions in society’. The objective of the journal is quite simply to publish the best and most innovative, significant and insightful legal scholarship from whatever area of law or whatever approach to the study of law from which such scholarship heralds.
Oxford Journal of Legal Studies
The Oxford Journal of Legal Studies is a refereed generalist academic law journal that publishes outstanding scholarly articles that are of intellectual value to legal scholars around the world. These are articles that stand the test of time by illuminating law and its operation. The Journal seeks to publish work that reflects the rich methodological diversity and scholarly integrity of high-quality legal scholarship. The Journal is published on behalf of the Faculty of Law, University of Oxford.
Public Law
Digests and commentary on cases and legislation ensure the reader is fully up-to-date with recent developments, while scholarly articles explore leading issues in depth. It is indispensable for both practitioners and those involved with the study of constitutional and administrative law in the UK and abroad.

Browse key journals

BrowZine
Browzine allows you to look through key journals in your specialism. Click through to a journal's contents page to access the articles.

It is important to scan key journals in your subject area to keep up to date. The Articles in Press feature displays the most current articles before they have been officially given a volume and issue number. When you have selected a journal, Articles in Press appears on the left, just below the journal cover image.

What to do if the Library doesn’t stock an article

In the course of searching these specialist resources, you may find articles that we do not have access to in our Library collection. If this happens, we can get the articles for you through our Document Supply Service.

This link is the information about how to use the Document Supply Service at Sheffield Hallam.

Document Supply Service

Law