LibGuides: Design: Images & video

Using video, images and audio

Photo credit: Model Art School © Sheffield Hallam University.

Video and images can be important and useful sources of information in your work, particularly in presentations:

showing something can be better than describing it.
images make for a more interesting and stimulating presentation.

Video, images and audio
The Video, images and audio guide has full details of library resources and support for this area, including advice on copyright.

Box of Broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Contains a permanent archive of content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra. Allows you to preview and save clips.

To access BoB you need to go to login, select your institution in the where are you from box (login using SHU username and password) and then follow the instructions to create an account.
Each user can request up to 20 new recordings (restricted to 5 in a 6hr period) or clips per day. There is no restriction on the number of existing programmes that can be viewed.

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education.This academically-focused system allows staff and students to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.

Tutorials are available here

BFI Player

BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films. The collection focuses on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.

BFI player This link opens in a new window
First time users and previously registered users
You need to start by creating an account or re-registering your account and selecting Sheffield Hallam University as the institution. You then sign in with your email and chosen password afterwards.

When you create an account you agree to BFI's terms of use.

BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films. the focus is on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.
This content is available via a Sheffield Hallam University subscription. We do not have access to the rental content.

Online tutorials

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online educational platform that helps you discover and develop business, technology-related, and creative skills through expert-led course videos.
Henry Stewart Talks Business and Management collection This link opens in a new window
Contains approximately 1,000 animated lectures and case studies by leading experts from commerce, industry and academia.
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video contains nearly 130 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, users can watch one in action.

Sometimes a concept is hard to grasp through text alone, but by hearing an expert explain it on film and seeing the research technique in action, it becomes clear.

Through these videos students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project
Sage knowledge business and management (Sage video collection) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes in-depth interviews with experts from across the globe on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing. View the very latest insights from marketing practitioners at brands including Kellogg’s and McDonald’s and watch management professionals, business leaders, entrepreneurs and marketers at work.

Image and media resources

The following media collections are particularly useful for design and fashion topics.

VADS-Visual Arts Data Services This link opens in a new window
Visual arts digital resources with over 100,000 images freely available to UK Higher and Further Education sectors. The collection covers a wide range of visual arts, including fine art, fashion, design, public art, posters. Free - registration required
Material may be duplicated for your research use or educational purposes in electronic or print form. You must obtain permission for any other use.

V&A Collections
A growing database of images from the Victoria and Albert Museum. It covers a wide range of subjects including sculpture, metalwork, glass, textiles, fashion, furniture, prints and photographs.
more...less...
Images can be used for teaching and learning purposes.

WGSN This link opens in a new window
A global market research service providing images and reports for the fashion, design and retail industries. It has a huge collection of images of the latest clothes and accessories from designers and stores around the world. You can use an extensive set of criteria to search for images and can zoom into the images to focus on details.

As well as images you can browse for news, analysis and reports on business, trends and marketing within the industry. It looks at all aspects of fashion and design, including materials, colours, brands and packaging. It also covers trends and images in related areas such as art, interior design, pop culture and celebrity.
You can use WGSN without creating an account. However, students who want to use the personalisation features should use the firstname.lastname@student.shu.ac.uk format of their Hallam email address to
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains a complete searchable archive with the full text and images from American Vogue, covering fashion from 1892 up to the present day.
The Vogue Archive contains high-resolution colour page images. Advanced search allows you to search by garment or accessory type, designer, brand names, photographer and model. The search can be further limited by document type, including Cover, Fashion Shoot and Adverts. The images can be viewed in Full text or cropped and zoomed using Full text - flash format. All images are accompanied with detailed information about the clothing, brand and participants.
SHIMMER This link opens in a new window
Sheffield Hallam University's images and multi-media database. Over 24,000 images, copyright-cleared for educational use. A variety of subject areas includes art and design, built environment, tourism and leisure, and student degree shows. Search, select, enlarge and export images and their metadata; link to any page in SHIMMER from Blackboard; or create presentations to export en masse to PowerPoint and HTML.

Picture Sheffield
an online collection of historical images of Sheffield from the Sheffield Local Studies Library, useful for projects about Sheffield.
more...less...
Low-resolution images may be downloaded free of charge - for personal use only.

Images may not be published in any book, pamphlet, magazine, calendar, publicity or promotional material. Images may not be used in television, video, broadcast or presentation nor on any other Internet site. Images may not be posted to bulletin boards, newsgroups or forums.

High quality photographic prints may be purchased - for personal use only.

Any publication, commercial use or Internet posting requires separate permission, and there may be a charge for such use.
LIFE photo archive
Hosted by Google, the archive provides still images from historical events.
TED: Ideas Worth Saying
TED is a series of presentations dedicated to spreading interesting ideas in technology, entertainment and design. Videos of the presentations are available to view through the TED website.
Pinterest
Pinterest is a social media site that allows you to share your ideas and follow other people's. It's a great source for finding inspiration.

British Cartoon Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 154,000 individual cartoons comprising British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons/images from 1790-2011, supported by large collections of comic strips, photos, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines, plus biographical data. Artwork available online mostly dates from 1904 to now.
It has work by 350 leading cartoonists, including Strube, Low, Vicky and Giles. Images (e.g. of Prime Ministers from Pitt the younger to David Cameron) can be downloaded and used for educational purposes, including high resolution images. Registered users can create teaching packs: web groups of cartoons (light boxes) which can be used as teaching aids, projects, or online exhibitions. For publication purposes, digital images with copyright details can be ordered through the feedback section.
Alexander Street Media Plus This link opens in a new window
This service contains more than 100,000 videos, images, and sound recordings.The collections include: a selection of historic newsreel from British Paramount News, Channel 4 and 5 News, Gaumont British News and Gaumont Graphic Newsreel, ITN, ITV, Reuters, Roving Report and Visnews.8,000 clips from Getty (moving images) and c.12,000 images from Getty (still images),The University of Brighton Design Archives.Wellcome Film with c. 450 titles from 1912 onwards.
It is important to check terms of use before using any of resources as copyright will vary from collection to collection. It is important to check terms of use before using any of resources as copyright will vary from collection to collection.

Zandra Rhodes' digital collection
From the University of the Creative Arts and JISC, this collection features over 500 of Rhodes' couture dresses and garment designs from the 1960s to the present day.

AM explorer This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of pages of primary source collections spanning the 15th – 21st centuries which empower students and researchers to develop critical thinking.
Themes include Borders and Migrations, Gender and Sexuality, Global History, and War and Conflict.
Single point of access through AM Explorer with built-in federated search functionality across all collections
Wealth of additional features to enhance student engagement including Handwritten Text Recognition, Data Visualisation, Video and Oral Histories

Ordnance Survey Maps online

Digimap Ordnance Survey Data Collection This link opens in a new window
An Edina service offering Ordnance Survey maps and map data to UK Higher Education users. Allows users to view and print maps of locations within the UK. Contains a Gazeteer facility. Maps can be dowloaded for use with GIS software. Registration info