LibGuides: Design: Journals & databases

Print journals and magazines

It is important to scan the contents of key journals in your subject area on a regular basis to keep up to date with news and developments. Select your course to see some of the subject specific journals and magazines available on Adsetts level 2.

Design

• The Design Journal
• Design Week
• Design Issues

Fashion Design and FMC

• Drapers
• Fashion practice
• I-D
• Journal of fashion marketing and management
• Selvedge
• TANK
• Textile view magazine
• View2 magazine
• Vogue London
• Vogue New York
• Wallpaper
• Zoom on fashion trends

Interior Architecture

• A.A. files
• Abitare
• The Architects' Journal
• Architectural Review
• Architecture and Urbanism
• Architecture Today
• Casabella
• Detail: review of architecture and construction details
• Domus
• El Croquis
• Form
• Frame
• FX

Jewellery and Metalwork

• American craft
• Crafts
• Findings (Association for Contemporary Jewellery)
• Goldsmiths' review
• GZ : Goldschmiede und Uhrmacher Zeitung
• The Jeweller
• Medal
• Metalsmith
• Ornament
• R J
• Schmuck Magazin

Product and Furniture Design

• Eureka
• Form
• Form the making of design
• Frame
• ICON
• Innovation
• M.d.
• New Design
• Packaging news
• Tableware

Visual Communication

• Adbusters
• British Journal of Photography
• Communication arts
• Computer Arts
• Creative Review
• Eye
• Idea
• Journal of Illustration
• Printmaking today
• Raw Vision
• Wallpaper
• Wired

Key journals databases

These are some of the principle databases you would normally use for the study and theory of Design. These databases index hundreds of thousands of journal articles on Fashion, Furniture, Graphics, Interior Design, Metalwork & Jewellery, Packaging, Industrial Design and Product Design.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window An international database on material in design and applied arts. It includes disciplines such as ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, web design, animation, product design, industrial design, and others.
Art Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Art Full text contains 300 full text journals. Covers art, artists, history of art, design, graphic design, architecture, metalwork, jewellery, cultural policy, visual culture, museums, film.
Art and Design databases on Proquest This link opens in a new window A collection of ProQuest's databases covering the Art and Design, including The Vogue full text archive.
Art and Architecture archive This link opens in a new window A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. Coverage is 1895-2005
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs on all forms of modern and contemporary art, including installations, video art, computer and electronic art, performance, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, crafts, jewellery, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Updated 6 times a year. 289,000 records.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Full text coverage of trade and academic journals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.

Newspapers and magazines

Newspapers and magazines can be the best source for the very latest information. However, they are aimed at a general audience, and do not tend to be very technical or detailed. They are also certainly not peer-reviewed and can very often be erroneous or biased.

Nexis This link opens in a new window Nexis is a major full text database for global news and business information. It gives access to over 35,000 sources, with more than 12,000 international news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals.Alternative link - please note that, the first time you use this link, you will be asked to enter your first name and last name in order to access Nexis.
Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window A collection of historic newspapers including The Guardian (1821-2003); Observer (1791-2003); New York Times (1851-2010); Times of India (1838-2004). News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, photos and advertisements in downloadable pdf format.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window The Vogue Archive contains a complete searchable archive with the full text and images from American Vogue, covering fashion from 1892 up to the present day.
The Vogue Archive contains high-resolution colour page images. Advanced search allows you to search by garment or accessory type, designer, brand names, photographer and model. The search can be further limited by document type, including Cover, Fashion Shoot and Adverts. The images can be viewed in Full text or cropped and zoomed using Full text - flash format. All images are accompanied with detailed information about the clothing, brand and participants.
FT.com This link opens in a new window Online access to the Financial Times newspaper. Includes an 8 year searchable archive of news articles, as well as a browsable version of today's newspaper (available in 5 different editions: UK, Europe, US, Asia and Mid East). If you have problems accessing Full text on Ft.com. - go to Ft.com - go to My Account and click on Sign out - close your browser - to clear all your logins - come back here follow this link to login again.
LGBT magazine archive This link opens in a new window This magazine archive will offer backfiles of many of the key periodicals the LGBT field. Titles will include The Advocate , Gay Times and Gay News and The Pink Paper
Art and Architecture archive This link opens in a new window A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. Coverage is 1895-2005.

Multidisciplinary journals databases

Because Design can cover a huge range of subjects, you may very well find these databases useful on some occasions.

SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary abstract and database curated by subject matter experts. Scopus is also a citation index, which means that the records in the database contain information on citations made in that publication and it links that information so you can identify which publications have cited that one, and how many times a publication has been cited.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to a collection of databases. The default search is of the Web of Science Core Collection, which includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index. This enables you to search scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the citation network. By clicking on the drop-down menu next to ‘Search in:’ you can choose to search other databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008), KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR is a journal archive and does not include current or recent issues of journals. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.The following collections are available for users at SHU: Arts and Science I,II,III,IV and Arts and Sciences Complement. For lists of titles included in collections, please refer to the JSTOR website http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html .
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window Index and abstracts for health, social services, psychology, criminology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Coverage is from 1987 onwards. Updated monthly, with more than 1500 records added per update.
Engineering index This link opens in a new window Indexes journal articles for mechanical, civil, materials, electrical and medical engineering. It is particularly useful for UK, automotive and sports engineering. Allows cross-searching with other Proquest databases and easy export of resources to Refworks.
METADEX This link opens in a new window A comprehensive metallurgical database which indexes journal articles, conference papers, patents, reports and books on the properties, processing and applications of metals.
As a Proquest database, it allows cross-searching with other Proquest databases and easy export of resources to Refworks.
Engineered Materials Abstracts This link opens in a new window Engineered Materials Abstracts indexes journal articles, conference papers, reports and books about the manufacturing, properties and applications of ceramics, composites and polymers.
As a Proquest database, it allows cross-searching with other Proquest databases and easy export of resources to Refworks.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed. Coverage: 1806 - current

Design

Print journals and magazines

Design

Fashion Design and FMC

Interior Architecture

Jewellery and Metalwork

Product and Furniture Design

Visual Communication

Key journals databases

Newspapers and magazines

Multidisciplinary journals databases

Find us

Contact us

Information