LibGuides: Economics, Finance and Accounting: Company Information

Company Information

Company information can be found from a number of sources:

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window ABI/INFORM Collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Full text coverage of trade and academic journals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
COBRA: Complete Business Reference Advisor This link opens in a new window COBRA provides useful information related to starting up and running a small business.
It includes factsheets, opportunity profiles, market reports, contacts, news, development tools and details of sources of funding. Three users are allowed at a time so if you cannot access it, try again later.COBRA provides useful information related to starting up and running a small business. It includes factsheets, opportunity profiles, market reports, contacts, news, development tools and details of sources of funding. Three users are allowed at a time so if you cannot access it, try again later.
FAME This link opens in a new window Company information and financial reports for UK and Ireland.
Filings Expert This link opens in a new window Filings Expert provides access to over 14 million global company filings. Available information includes, annual reports; investor presentations, press releases and SEC filings.
Marketline Advantage This link opens in a new window Marketline Advantage provides quality information on industries, countries and companies and is updated daily. It has interactive reports and databases and is ideal for understanding companies and sectors.
Mintel Academic Reports This link opens in a new window Mintel is a leading name in Market Research, the Library provides access to reports published in the last two years for leading UK industries including: Technology, Media, Household Care, Health and Wellbeing, Food and Drink, Beauty and Personal Care, Automotive. The Library subscription also covers Mintel Market Sizes which provides global market data such as market size, market share, market forecasts and segmentation.
Nexis This link opens in a new window Nexis is a major full text database for global news and business information. It gives access to over 35,000 sources, with more than 12,000 international news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Alternative link - please note that, the first time you use this link, you will be asked to enter your first name and last name in order to access Nexis.
Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window Market research data that analysts at Euromonitor have collated including consumer lifestyle reports, future demographics, country profiles, updates on consumer and industry trends, company information, market sizes and economic indicators. Passport covers more than 200 countries and regions, with a global outlook
Statista This link opens in a new window Access to global statistics, data, graphs and infographics. Statista provides detailed information on over 100 industries and 120 countries, as well as global companies and market trends.

Annual Reports Search for corporate annual reports from US companies
Bank Rankings: Top Banks in the World The world's top 50 banks (ranked by assets in US Dollars). Data taken from the Bankers Almanac (published by Reed Business Information Limited).
Companies House Companies House incorporates and dissolves limited companies, registers the information companies are legally required to supply, and makes that information available to the public.
Companies House: WebCHeck Free access to the official UK company register, providing contact details and status information. Sheffield Hallam University students and staff should use Key Note or FAME for access to full accounts of UK companies - no need to pay.
EDGAR Free access to company data, as filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission
Forbes Global 2000 Forbes magazine's ranking of the world's 2000 biggest public companies. Lists can be refined by country and industry sector
Fortune Global 500 Annual ranking of the top 500 corporations worldwide
Kompass: worldwide company search engine Free business-to-business company directory. Contains details of over 4 million companies around the world.

Lexis Plus This link opens in a new window
Lexis Plus (previously Lexis Library) contains a wide range of databases of full text legal resources, including statutes, statutory instruments and cases. It provides extensive coverage of English, U.S., Commonwealth and European Union primary and secondary materials. In addition, it provides access to journals and e-books.
Lexis Plus also gives access to information on the following practice areas: company and commercial; employment; family; financial services; litigation; personal injury; private client property; public sector; tax and accountancy, with many full text U.K. journals. Also included is a wide range of UK newspapers.
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is an international database of full text primary resources including UK and EU legislation and case law, in addition to selected books and full-text journals.
You only need to create an account and login with it if you want to save searches on Westlaw.
Includes comprehensive coverage of English law reports and selected transcripts of unreported cases and a case citator.
It provides the full text of a wide range of UK law journals.
It also contains the full database of the Legal Journals Index, which is an index to approximately 400 UK law journals.

Orange Tax Handbook (online)
This handbook is the definitive guide to indirect tax legislation. Endorsed by the Chartered Institute of Taxation. The text contains consolidated legislation and technical material relating to value added tax, stamp taxes, insurance premium tax, landfill tax, aggregates levy and climate change levy.
Orange Tax Handbook Archive (online)
Tolley's Tax Cases (online)
Tolley’s Tax Cases is the only book of its kind that summarises all key court, Special Commissioners’ and First–tier Tribunal decisions relevant to current direct tax legislation. Concise summaries of over 2,800 tax cases span from 1875 to the present day.
Tolley's Tax Guide (online)
This one–stop reference work is written by experts in clear, concise English. The text includes worked examples, tax points and clear tables.
Tolley's Taxwise Volume I (online)
Two part set is published annually and covers; income tax, national insurance contributions, corporate tax, capital gains tax, stamp duty and VAT.
Tolley's Taxwise Volume II (online)
Part II covers Inheritance Tax, Taxation of Trusts and Taxation of Estates, incorporating a variety of features for ease of use. This is required reading for all students in professional tax examinations.
Yellow Tax Handbook (online)
Tolley’s Yellow Tax Handbook covers legislation relating to income tax, capital gains tax, corporation tax, national insurance contributions, tax credits, petroleum revenue tax and inheritance tax.
Yellow Tax Handbook Archive (online)
Tolley's Corporation Tax (online)
Tolley's Corporation Tax presents a complete picture of this complex and evolving tax. It unites legislation, case law and ancillary material together with corporation tax compliance, planning and agreeing liabilities. It includes the law and practice for at least the last four years and over 50 worked examples are included to clarify complex points.