Market research reports provide detailed business analysis of specific market sectors and are usually produced by companies such as Mintel, Euromonitor or MarketLine. They either conduct their own research or will gather information conducted by another research organisation. Each report will usually include information about the main companies in that sector, their relative market share, statistics about the size of the market, current issues affecting the industry, information about customers and more.
Reports will usually be focused on a market sector or product, e.g. clothing retail or home entertainment. However, reports are often produced about trends, e.g. healthy eating or specific consumers, e.g. millennials.
Unless you need a historical perspective, try to find the latest report on your product or service. If you can't find any reports on your industry sector in the market research databases listed above, it's always a good idea to try to think of other words that might describe your market sector (e.g. if you can't find anything on "food retail", you might try searching for "groceries" or "supermarkets").
Market research reports can be found using the following databases:
Business Source PremierThis link opens in a new windowAlternative method of access to some of the industry reports from MarketLine Advantage.
It includes factsheets, opportunity profiles, market reports, contacts, news, development tools and details of sources of funding. Three users are allowed at a time so if you cannot access it, try again later.COBRA provides useful information related to starting up and running a small business. It includes factsheets, opportunity profiles, market reports, contacts, news, development tools and details of sources of funding. Three users are allowed at a time so if you cannot access it, try again later.
Marketline AdvantageThis link opens in a new windowInternational coverage. Includes industry profiles of sectors including: Accountancy; Banks; Credit Unions; Insurance; Investment Banking and Brokerage; Residential Mortgages; Retail Lending; Retail Savings and Investments. Also includes M&A financial deals tracker, and investment & advisory prospector.
Mintel Academic ReportsThis link opens in a new windowCovers UK markets only. Includes market research reports on subjects including: Consumer attitudes towards debt; Deposit and Savings Accounts; Home Insurance; ISAs; Mortgages; Personal and Stakeholder Pensions.
Passport (Euromonitor)This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage. Includes market research reports (category briefings) on sectors including: ATM Cards; Consumer Credit; Consumer Lending; Credit Cards; Debit Cards; Financial Cards and Payments.
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowAccess to global statistics, data, graphs and infographics. Statista provides detailed information on over 100 industries and 120 countries, as well as global companies and market trends.
Trade Associations ForumThis is a searchable index of UK trade associations. Trade association websites may include some useful industry sector information.