LibGuides: Geography, Environment and Planning: Images & video

Using video and images

Video and images can be important and useful sources of information in your work, particularly in presentations. The Video, images and audio guide has full details of library resources and support for this area.

Maps

Print Ordnance Survey and geological maps can be found at the level 2 of the Adsetts Library, in between the book collection and the journal collection. These can be borrowed in the same way as ordinary books

Online mapping services are also available:

Digimap Ordnance Survey Data Collection This link opens in a new window
An Edina service offering Ordnance Survey maps and map data to UK Higher Education users. Allows users to view and print maps of locations within the UK: these maps can be overlaid with datasets such as aerial photos, lidar scans, and geological, environmental or demographic information. Maps can also be downloaded for use with GIS software. Registration info

Television and radio recordings

You can find online off-air recordings of television and radio programmes on Library Search, as well as substantial DVD and Blu-Ray collections. However, there are additional resources.

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts (also known as BoB) is a database of television and radio recordings from UK free-to-air channels, which you can view or listen to online. You can also request new recordings from the channels covered. When you login into BoB, choose Sheffield Hallam University from the list of institutions: you then long in with your normal Sheffield Hallam login details. The first time you use BoB, you will be taken through creating an account.

Images for geography, environment and planning

Art and Architecture
40,000 digitised images from the paintings and drawing collections of the Courtauld Institute of Art. A free registration service which allows you to build up and save sets of images.
The List
A record of listed buildings in the UK- including images where available- curated by Historic England for DCMS.
Historic England images
Images and drawings of British buildings, towns and landscapes
Creative Commons search
Search tool for images, video and sound under Creative Commons licences. It includes Flickr, Google Images for images, SoundCloud and Jamendo for music, YouTube for video, and other multimedia search tools.

Alexander Street Media Plus This link opens in a new window
This service contains more than 100,000 videos, images, and sound recordings.The collections include: a selection of historic newsreel from British Paramount News, Channel 4 and 5 News, Gaumont British News and Gaumont Graphic Newsreel, ITN, ITV, Reuters, Roving Report and Visnews.8,000 clips from Getty (moving images) and c.12,000 images from Getty (still images),The University of Brighton Design Archives.Wellcome Film with c. 450 titles from 1912 onwards.
It is important to check terms of use before using any of resources as copyright will vary from collection to collection. It is important to check terms of use before using any of resources as copyright will vary from collection to collection.
Morguefile This link opens in a new window
Stock photographic library with images which can be used for all purposes including commercial use. You search by keyword or browse by category (sports, nature, textures, still lifes, scenes, objects, animals, people).
Images may be freely used
SHIMMER This link opens in a new window
Sheffield Hallam University's images and multi-media database. Over 24,000 images, copyright-cleared for educational use. A variety of subject areas includes art and design, built environment, tourism and leisure, and student degree shows. Search, select, enlarge and export images and their metadata; link to any page in SHIMMER from Blackboard; or create presentations to export en masse to PowerPoint and HTML.