LibGuides: Geography, Environment and Planning: Journals

Key journals databases for specific subjects

You'll find many articles you'll need for your studies in Library Search . But there is a range of specialist databases which provide more sophisticated searches for journal articles around many different aspects of geography and planning.

Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Large multi-disciplinary database, including large sub-collections on environmental science and management, earth sciences, agriculture, and public health.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Articles on sustainability and environmental management.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Articles on physical geography
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Articles on social sciences and politics
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Articles on psychology and human behaviour
The database can be searched in several ways including by specifying keywords that may occur in the article title, abstract, or the full-text, or by author names and journal titles.
Each retrieved record has a link to the corresponding full-text article, which is almost always available in PDF format (so Adobe Acrobat reader is needed for viewing) and in HTML format. Each record also has a link to the Table of Contents (TOC) for the issue in which the article is published.

The database can also be searched for articles of interest by browsing directly through the journal titles and then clicking to the tables of contents for the respective volumes and issues.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Articles on psychology and human behaviour
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on management, project management, economics, and business.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Articles on civil engineering, management, and business.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
A huge database on anything relating to computing and electronics, this includes many articles on GIS, CAD, environmental modelling, and manufacturing and automation.
IEEE Xplore
In the database IEEE Xplore there are now over 3.8 million articles on computing related topics. There are thousands of early access articles that you can only find by searching IEEE Xplore (not by searching through Google Scholar or Library Search).
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This computing database has articles on GIS and CAD

General pupose journals databases

While these massive databases tend to have a broad focus that ranges across science, technology and social science, they are still useful sources to use when searching for journal articles, especially as they often have additional advanced features to help find relevant information.

SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Huge science, technology and social sciences database, which features citation searching.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Huge science, technology and social sciences database, which features citation searching.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
A large science and technology database; alongside journal articles, it has many features to help researchers find information about research projects and opportunities.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science, technology and social sciences databases.

Key journals for geography, environment and planning

Keep up to date with news and developments in your subject area by scanning some key journals:

Keeping up to date with the latest issues of journals: Browzine

As well as directly searching for specific subjects, there are also tools which will let you browse through journals and keep up to date with the contents of new issues of key titles.

How to read an academic paper

How to read an academic paper
This video by the UBCiSchool introduces students to the techniques involved in reading scholarly literature.

What to do if a journal article is not available in the Library

If we don't have a journal article or conference proceeding in stock, we can ask another library to email a copy to you via our Document Supply Service. While it may not be possible to get absolutely everything, the vast majority of articles can be obtained this way.

Document Supply Services