Health

The Department of Health provides strategic leadership for public health, the NHS and social care in England.
The Department of Health’s purpose is to improve England’s health and well-being and in doing so achieve better health, better care, and better value for all.

The Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) is responsible for welfare, pensions and child maintenance policy. As the UK’s biggest public service department it administers the State Pension and a range of working age, disability and ill health benefits to over 22 million claimants and customers. DWP is a ministerial department, supported by 14 agencies and public bodies.

NICE's role is to improve outcomes for people using the NHS and other public health and social care services. We do this by:
•Producing evidence-based guidance and advice for health, public health and social care practitioners.
•Developing quality standards and performance metrics for those providing and commissioning health, public health and social care services;
•Providing a range of information services for commissioners, practitioners and managers across the spectrum of health and social care.

The HCPC is a regulator set up to protect the public. To do this the HCPC keep a register of health professionals who meet their standards for training, professional skills, behaviour and health.

Official site of the English NHS. Everything health, including: Health A-Z, lifestyle advice, performance data & patient ratings.

The ONS is the UK’s largest independent producer of official statistics and its recognised national statistical institute. They are responsible for collecting and publishing statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local levels. They also conduct the census in England and Wales every 10 years.

Founded in 1894. The CSP supports those who deliver physiotherapy care, education and research through professional, educational and trade union services. The CSP deliver's tailored services to over 49,000 practising physiotherapists, support workers, students, overseas and retired members via offices in every UK region.

The BAOT/COT British Association of Occupational Therapist and College of Occupational Therapists is the professional body for Occupational therapists. The web pages provide help in supporting qualified and student members. With areas on professional development, specialist sections, research plus COT Library and publications. See journals list June 2013 below.

The British Orthopaedic Association (BOA) is the Surgical Specialty Association for Trauma and Orthopaedics in the UK. They provide national leadership, a unifying focus, and charitable endeavour by: Caring for Patients; Supporting Surgeons; Transforming Lives As a membership organisation they care for patients and support surgeons by focusing on excellence in: Professional Practice; Training and Education; Research

Provides education and support to Operating Department Practitioners, Theatre nurses and all those working in and around operating departments.

"Setting standards, education and promoting the development of the profession."

The HCPC is a regulator set up to protect the public.

The YHPHO produce information, data and intelligence on people's health and health care.

A primary objective of the BPA is to strengthen and develop the profession and to represent the interests of its membership.
The CoP exists to ensure that all paramedics in the ambulance profession take forward the standards for education and practice.

An organisation which provides education and reference materials on effective resuscitation methods.

The YHPHO produce information, data and intelligence on people's health and health care for practitioners, policy makers and the wider community.

The HCPC is a regulator set up to protect the public. To do this the HCPC keep a register of health professionals who meet their standards for training, professional skills, behaviour and health.

The Library and Knowledge Services for NHS Ambulance Services in England is a project lead by Health Education England (HEE) and the National Education Network for Ambulance Services (NENAS). The Library provides services to NHS staff employed by the eight ambulance service partners in the project. Their services are document supply, literature searching, current awareness, and guides and help on various aspects of information skills.
You can contact the library via email [ Matt.Holland@nwas.nhs.uk ] or using one of the online forms on the website.

If you are a member, you can request a log in for the RCOT Library catalogue.

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability.

The Library and Knowledge Services for NHS Ambulance Services in England is a project lead by Health Education England (HEE) and the National Education Network for Ambulance Services (NENAS). The Library provides services to NHS staff employed by the eight ambulance service partners in the project. Their services are document supply, literature searching, current awareness, and guides and help on various aspects of information skills.
You can contact the library via email [ Matt.Holland@nwas.nhs.uk ] or using one of the online forms on the website.

Professional library services for members of the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy.