Health

Hallam Library uses the Dewey Decimal system for shelving print books.

Each book is shelved according to its shelfmark number. You'll need this shelfmark number to find your books. You can browse the shelves, but it is better to use Library Search to browse.

Remember, you will also have reading lists for a lot of your modules so make sure you use them, too!

How to find and access both print and eBooks.

Print Books: Firstly, check that there is no eBook available to support your topic! We have a lot of the content available as eBooks as well as in print. 

If you do need to use a print book, search the Library resources, using Library Search.

1. Search for either the title of the book you need, if you know it, or put some keywords into the search box.
2. When you have found the title you want, use the shelfmark number you find in the record to locate the book in the library. 

If there is a print book that you would like and we do not have it in the collection, you can use either our 'Request a new resource' or 'Document Supply' service to request it. 

eBooks: Follow the information in this section to access eBooks that we have to support your studies.

The Library aims to have both eBook and print versions of books as we know both formats are important especially when studying away from the University.

Unfortunately publishers do not always offer an eBook in a format suitable for library use, or it is not available at the time we order the print version.

How to find eBooks

• Go to the Library Gateway at: https://library.shu.ac.uk
• Search for your keywords in Library Search e.g. anatomy.
• To the left of your search results click on Books / eBooks and Online.
• Choose a book and follow the link(s) available under Find online. The links will either say View online at: or the name of an eBook provider.

Reading eBooks

How you can use an eBook depends on terms and conditions set by the publisher.  In most cases you will be able to choose between reading online and downloading the eBook for a limited period to your own device. When downloaded eBooks expire you can download them again.

Most eBooks can be read by more than one reader at a time but sometimes you may have to wait if another reader is using the book. You can search within individual eBooks, add notes and print or copy a limited number of pages from most eBooks.

Further help

If you need further help please take a look at the Library Help guide: eBooks section or get in contact. You can find a link to the Library Help guide below.

You might find these eBook collections useful for your studies. You can search these collections independently, or you can use Library Search to find more eBooks.

All of the books in this list are online and can be accessed by clicking on the link. You can discover more by using Library Search and searching using keywords for resources on your topic.

SHU Library is subscribed to ClinicalKey Midwifery Student Collection, which contains 31 key Midwifery texts (such as Mayes' Midwifery, Anatomy & Physiology for Midwives by Coad, and Myles' Midwifery) as unlimited access ebooks in their most recent editions. Here is a link to a full list of the books included in this collection. The collection also contains nearly 100 video case studies and thousands of copyright-cleared illustrative images.

You can browse this collection by logging in via institution at www.clinicalkey.com/student/nursing Click 'Log in via your institution', then select Sheffield Hallam and enter your Hallam login details. ClinicalKey have provided a video showing how to register your account.

The ebooks in this collection also appear in Library Search in the same way as other ebooks.

• Once you've logged into your account, you can add books to your Bookshelf, where you can highlight and annotate them. You can access the Bookshelf on your browser from the book icon in the top right corner of the Clinical Key Student homepage. This video illustrates how to use the ClinicalKey Student Bookshelf.
• There is a mobile app available on Android and iOs, or a desktop app available from the Microsoft Store, either of which allow you to download books to read offline. More information can be found at the following link: Offline access to the ClinicalKey Student Bookshelf 
• When logging in, the Bookshelf should be set to 'ClinicalKey Student for Nursing' rather than 'ClinicalKey Student for Medical'.
• More guidance on using ClinicalKey Midwifery can be found in the help section on their website: ClinicalKey Student Nursing Support Center