Library Help: SHU Links

No, SHU Links will sometimes NOT find full text. In some cases, there simply may not be a full text version of the article you want. In other instances, the SHU Library may not subscribe to the full text of the journal.

If there is no option to link to full text within the SHU Links menu, please check Library Search to see whether the item is held in print format.

If electronic full-text is available SHU Links will display Fulltext available with links to sources under the Find online tab.

If Fulltext available does not display, then the Request options tab will show a link to request a copy of the item from Document Supply Services

SHU Links will try to make a link to the full text of the article. If this is not possible then it will create a link to the journal's homepage from where you should be able to browse to the issue containing the article, or search for the article title.

SHU Links will try to make a link to the full text of the article, but occasionally the links don't work.

Try using the Google Scholar link. This will run a search which may find the article from another source.

If you still cannot find the article please report the problem via the Report a problem or error link.

SHU Links services are determined by the information available in the record you started with and the Library resources available. Only those services which are available for the specific item appear in the menu.

The button will usually display for each item in your search results. Even if no electronic full text option is available SHU Links will offer a menu of other relevant services such as links to Google Scholar to search other sources, and Request options that you might use to request a copy through our Document Supply Services.

Even if it is not immediately available our Document Supply Service might be able to get a copy of the article for you from another library. You can use the Request options links on SHU links to request an article and usually it will be delivered within a few days.

If the article you need is a very recent article from a journal, it is possible the article has not yet been loaded on the web site, so SHU Links cannot retrieve it. Unfortunately, you have to wait for the publisher to add it to their database.

Another problem could be that our SHU Links links are out of date and need to be updated. Please let us know about any problems you may have, using the Feedback form on the SHU Links menu, so that we can try and fix them.

Sometimes SHU Links has a problem transmitting the full article title to the database; this is a particular problem with newspaper articles that include a colon in the title from the Nexis UK database. In this case you are often better advised to search the database directly.

If you opened SHU Links from a specific article in a database, SHU Links will check the SHU electronic holdings. If we do not subscribe to that year/volume, the journal will not appear in the SHU Links menu.

There are a number of reasons why a SHU Links button/option may not show:

• You need to make sure the web page in the database has completely finished loading.
• Some databases will not show our customised SHU Links button and display a generic button instead. Click on this button and it will still bring up the SHU Links menu.
• In some databases you will need to be viewing the Full Record, rather than the list of Brief records, before the SHU Links button will appear.
• You need to make sure you have enabled JavaScript to run in your web browser.
• The database you are using may not be SHU Links compatible.
• There may be a temporary problem with the SHU Links service. If so, please report using the Contact links above

Please submit any queries or comments using Contact us and Library Chat