Skip to Main Content

Library Help: eBooks

eBooks Help

Introduction to eBooks

When you are off campus, you may find you need to use eBooks (full-text electronic books) more often to support your learning and teaching. This page is designed to help you make the most of using eBooks and to answer any questions you might have. 

Students and staff have access to the library's collection of eBooks. Log in to library gateway with your SHU username and password to find and access eBooks through Library Search.

All the eBooks we offer can be read on any computer or device connected to the internet. 

If you can't find the information you are looking for on this page, please contact us. We're always happy to help. 

Requesting new ebooks

If you would like the Library to purchase a new ebook, or purchase an ebook copy of a print book we already have in stock, you can put in a request using this online form. Please be aware that not all books may be available in an ebook format which is suitable for library use. 

Common ebook issues

If you have any problems using an ebook, please get in touch with the Library via Hallam Help

Issues which sometimes occur are: 

  • Some ebook platforms may have limits on the number of people who can concurrently read an ebook at any one time. This is often just a question of waiting for another reader to finish with the book, freeing up the access slot. However, it is still often helpful to contact the Library if this issue occurs, as we can get extra copies on an ebook if this is happening too often. 
  • Some ebook platforms may work on a credit model, with a set number of times the book can be accessed each year. If an ebook exceeds that set number of accesses, it is no longer possible to access that book until the start of the next year period. In these cases, the Library would normally buy an additional copy if possible. 
  • Authors and publishers can sometimes request for an ebook to be withdrawn, in which case the book will no longer be available. This can sometimes mean it is not possible to order a new extra copy of an ebook in cases of problems with user limits or credit limits.  
  • Like any web service, ebook platforms do occasionally suffer downtime, planned or otherwise. You can check to see if there are any known issues with ebook platforms from the Library Services Status box at the bottom right of the Library Online homepage
  • Over time some ebook links may change. If you find a link that doesn’t work, please report it and we will try to fix it or find an alternative.

eBook platfforms

Supplier Description Accessibility  Licenses or credit restrictions Downloading/Copying 

Taylor & Francis 
A collection of selected ebooks across a wide range of subjects and disciplines including humanities, social sciences, education, behavioural sciences, built environment and law. Filter to "Show content I have access to" to see books SHU subscribes to. Taylor & Francis eBooks Accessibility Statement No Using an ebook
VLe Books This database contains all the VLE ebook titles that Sheffield Hallam have access to. This includes the Dawsonera ebook titles.  VleBooks Accessibility Statement Yes

VLeBooks download help

Copying and printing

ProQuest eBook Central This is multi-publisher, multi-subject platform. Includes former MyiLibrary titles. Accessibility Statement: Ebook Central Yes I need help with . . .
Bibliu

Bibliu contains a specially-selected collection of books, which are each chosen and paid for based on an annual subscription model. It is used to provide online access to essential readings on reading lists which are not available on other platforms.

Access will be through links to individual books in Library Search, or in relevant reading lists and module sites 

Accessibility  No

Downloading your books

Printing pages or chapters for offline reading

O’Reilly (Used to be Safari books) With O’Reilly (previously known as Safari Technical Books), you have access to more than 35,000 book titles covering a variety of information technology topics, as well as more than 30,000 hours of video, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. Accessibility statement No Getting started
Sage Research Methods Books and Reference Titles from SAGE’s book, journal, and reference content in Research Methods. The collection includes nearly 1,000 books and reference works. 
It does NOT contain datasets.
SAGE Research Methods accessibility guide No User guides
SAGE Research Methods Cases Research Methods content is often theoretical and abstract and can be difficult to apply to real world scenarios. SAGE Research Methods Cases offers hundreds of case studies of actual research projects from many different disciplines to show how methods are applied. These cases add context to the more theoretical material found in SAGE Research Methods and underscore the nuances and decisions researchers face when designing projects. SAGE Research Methods accessibility guide No User guides
SAGE Research Methods Cases: Medicine and Health Covers methods commonly used in research across medical specialties and studies in public health.  SAGE Research Methods accessibility guide No User guides

 

Adsetts Library [map pdf]
Collegiate Library [map pdf]

Sheffield Hallam University
City Campus, Howard Street
Sheffield S1 1WB