LibGuides: Design: Books and eBooks

Finding books on the shelves

Books are arranged in the library by shelfmarks. Each book has a number followed by at least two letters. Signs on the end of shelves tell you what numbers are on the shelves. Books with the same or similar numbers will deal with related topics.

If you would like to browse the shelves for books relating to Design, they can be found at the following shelfmarks:

Animation / cartoons	741.58	level 5
Brands / Branding	658.827	level 5
Design	745	level 5
Design education	745.407	level 5
Designers	745.4492 A-Z	level 5
Display of merchandise	659.157	level 5
Ergonomics	620.82	level 5
Fashion	391	level 3
Fashion drawing	741.672	level 5
Furniture design	749.2	level 5
Graphic design	741.6	level 5
Interior architecture	729	level 5
Interior design	747	level 5
Jewellery & Metalwork	739	level 5
Packaging design	658.564	level 5
Photography	770	level 5
Product design	745.2	level 5
Product development and innovation	658.575	level 5
Technical drawing	604.2	level 5
Textiles	746	level 5
Typography	686.22	level 5

Document Supply Services

If you cannot find and access the item you need using Library Search or your subject guide, then please make a request using the Document Supply Services form and we will do our best to provide you with digital access to what you need.

Finding eBooks in Library Search

The Library aims to have both eBook and print versions of books as we know both formats are important especially when studying away from the University. Unfortunately publishers do not always offer an eBook in a format suitable for library use, or it is not available at the time we order the print version.

How to find eBooks

Go to the Library Gateway at: https://library.shu.ac.uk
Search for your keywords in Library Search e.g "zero waste".
To the left of your search results click on Books / eBooks and Online.
Choose a book and follow the link(s) available under Find online. The links will either say View online at: or the name of an eBook provider.

Specialist eBooks collections

Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window Bloomsbury Design Library provides coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BC to the present day. It covers the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window This collection of eBooks covers a diverse range of fields including design and illustration, fashion and textiles, architecture and interiors, film and media, marketing and advertising, and photography.
Bloomsbury fashion central This link opens in a new window Bloomsbury Fashion Central is a dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Content is peer reviewed by industry and academic experts and includes interconnected major reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images from museums around the world.
Bloomsbury architecture library This link opens in a new window This is an essential digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism and interior design. Included in this collection: Sir Banister Fletcher's global history of architecture, 21st edition.
Bloomsbury cultural history This link opens in a new window Provides access to Bloomsbury's Cultural Histories series as well as an eBook collection and primary sources from leading global institutions.
Bloomsbury food library This link opens in a new window Food is a growing, interdisciplinary subject. This is an important resource for students and scholars studying food, on courses as wide-ranging as history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, and agriculture.

Multidisciplinary eBook collections

The Library has a range of eBook collections. You can search Library Search to find eBooks about many different subjects and that approach may be quicker than searching individual collections. You can also browse or search with the collections directly.

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers.

Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases relating to art, business, communication, film and television, history, medicine, sport etc. which can be searched individually or collectively. The resources offer abstracts, full-text journal articles, news items, company reports, and peer-reviewed sources. Includes some full text. alternative link

OAPEN
OAPEN is a platform supporting open access publishing of peer reviewed books.

Taylor and Francis SHU eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of selected ebooks published by Taylor and Francis, who publish across a wide range of subjects and disciplines including humanities, social sciences, education, behavioural sciences, built environment and law. Filter to "Show content I have access to" to see books SHU subscribes to.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
This database contains all the VLE ebook titles that Sheffield Hallam have access to. This includes the Dawsonera ebook titles.
Sage Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of books, case studies and videos exploring and illustrating research methods for the social sciences.

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Encyclopaedia Britannica Online comprises of Encyclopaedia Britannica, Student , Elementary, Concise encyclopaedia plus Britannica internet Guide and Merridiam Webster collegiate Dictionary/Thesaurus.
There is a search option to search the encyclopaedias by 'Word' 'Phrase' and 'Question' or browse by the 'Index', 'Subject', 'Article' and review by year from 1993 plus 'Timelines' There is a 'Cite Article'.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles, based on current scholarship, on noteworthy people from all walks of life who have left their mark on British history. No living person is included in the dictionary.
The dictionary includes people who were born and lived in the British Isles; people from the British Isles who achieved recognition in other countries; people who lived in territories formerly connected to the British Isles at a time when they were in contact with British rule; and people born elsewhere who settled in the British Isles for significant periods or whose visits enabled them to leave a mark on British life.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window Oxford English Dictionary,is regularly updated. and is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers & etymological analysis and listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.If the word can not be found it will give the closet alphabetial entry.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference Online gives access to the world's largest reference collection, allowing for a single cross searchable resource. Comprises 100+ quick reference titles from the Core Collection plus 50,000+ longer in-depth entries from an expanding range of titles in the Oxford Companies series.
It adds and revises titles regularly. All 20,000+ quotation entries from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. 5,300+ illustrations, including full-colour maps, line diagrams and tables, 36,000+ bibliographies and 1,400+ external web links, as well as enhanced search functions to access results by category. Timelines currently cover events from the 20th century only. At the end of every results page there is information on 'how to cite this entry'.

Research methodologies and SAGE Research Methods

Sage Research Methods is a methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It is designed to guide users to the content you need to learn a little or a lot about your method.

Need to find a Method? Explore the Methods Map below (click on the image):

Type a method such as "case study" or "focus group" into the widget below to get to books and videos on SAGE Research Methods:

SAGE Research Methods Books and Reference This link opens in a new window Titles from SAGE’s book, journal, and reference content in Research Methods. The collection includes nearly 1,000 books and reference works. It does NOT contain datasets.
SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new window Research Methods content is often theoretical and abstract and can be difficult to apply to real world scenarios. SAGE Research Methods Cases offers hundreds of case studies of actual research projects from many different disciplines to show how methods are applied. These cases add context to the more theoretical material found in SAGE Research Methods and underscore the nuances and decisions researchers face when designing projects.
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods Video contains nearly 130 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, users can watch one in action. Sometimes a concept is hard to grasp through text alone, but by hearing an expert explain it on film and seeing the research technique in action, it becomes clear. Through these videos students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project

Sage Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of books, case studies and videos exploring and illustrating research methods for the social sciences.