LibGuides: Food and Nutrition: Journal Databases

Why you should use journal articles

In academic writing, it is essential to support your discussions and arguments with reliable, published sources. This evidence is usually published as an academic journal article. These sources are typically found in academic databases and, in some cases, through platforms like Google Scholar. Using these resources ensures you access high-quality, relevant information. The Library provides these databases in collaboration with your lecturers and academic staff, helping you find the most appropriate materials for your subject area.

Key journals databases

MEDLINE (Ebsco)
I’m having a makeover! This database will be changing its interface on Monday 7th July 2025. This means that the database will look different, and some of the features available will change. Make sure you export the contents of your custom folders before the switchover. For more information on these changes, read our new EBSCOhost interface guide: https://tinyurl.com/ebsco2025
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences.
alternative link
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.
Cross search available with all EBSCO databases, select Choose Databases and tick those you wish to add to your search.
PubMed
PubMed
PubMed is a free to use life sciences database. The resource is maintained by NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information, USA). PubMed also has a login option if users want to save searches and add items to collections, but this means you need to use an external third party login, such as a Microsoft or Google account. There is no Hallam Library login to PubMed available via the institution login with SHU login details.
PubMed includes abstracts and citations to over 37 million articles. Some of the abstracts include the full text for anyone to view within PubMed. If the article is abstract only, click the SHU Links button to see if we have it in the library collection.
PubMed is a search tool to access citations, abstracts and links to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers. Including over 15 million citations from journals and covers 4,800 biomedical science journals.
CINAHL Complete
I’m having a makeover! This database will be changing its interface on Monday 7th July 2025. This means that the database will look different, and some of the features available will change. Make sure you export the contents of your custom folders before the switchover. For more information on these changes, read our new EBSCOhost interface guide: https://tinyurl.com/ebsco2025
Cinahl Complete with Full Text, the authoritative bibliographic database for nursing and allied health, provides full text for 1350 journals. alternative link
Coverage is from 1937 onwards and also includes books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings and standards of practice.Cross search available with all EBSCO databases, select Choose Databases and tick those you wish to add to your search.
Bloomsbury food library
Food is a growing, interdisciplinary subject. This is an important resource for students and scholars studying food, on courses as wide-ranging as history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
SCOPUS
Scopus is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary abstract and database curated by subject matter experts. Scopus is also a citation index, which means that the records in the database contain information on citations made in that publication and it links that information so you can identify which publications have cited that one, and how many times a publication has been cited.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to a collection of databases. The default search is of the Web of Science Core Collection, which includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index. This enables you to search scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the citation network.
By clicking on the drop-down menu next to ‘Search in:’ you can choose to search other databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008), KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides journal articles and eBooks on the physics, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, health, computing and social sciences. The default search includes both ebooks and journal articles. You can use filters in your results to select between them: alternatively, you can use the search tab. Search results for eBooks are at chapter level.
Alternative link via Shibboleth
Articles and eBooks can be downloaded, saved permanently and kept as PDFs that you can view offline.
Business Source Premier
I’m having a makeover! This database will be changing its interface on Monday 7th July 2025. This means that the database will look different, and some of the features available will change. Make sure you export the contents of your custom folders before the switchover. For more information on these changes, read our new EBSCOhost interface guide: https://tinyurl.com/ebsco2025
Full text coverage of trade and academic journals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
Emerald Insight
Access to subscribed journals and eBooks published by Emerald. Subject coverage: business, management, marketing, retailing, economics, education, engineering and library and information science.

Emerald Web-based Tutorials to help you get the most out of Emerald
Available in 7 languages

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews - Biomedical/Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes Biomedical/Life Sciences Collection current year and the previous four years. The reviews included within this collection are: Analytical chemistry; Biochemistry; Biomedical engineering; Biophysics; Cell and developmental biology; Chemical and biomolecular engineering; Clinical psychology; Ecology; Evolution and systematics ; Entomology; Food science and technology; Genetics; Genomics and human genetics; Immunology ; Marine Science; Medicine; Microbiology; Neuroscience; Nutrition; Pathology: Mechanisms of disease ; Pharmacology and toxicology; Physiology; Phytopathology; Plant biology; Psychology; Public health.

Browse key journals

BrowZine
Browzine allows you to look through key journals in your specialism. Click through to a journal's contents page to access the articles.

It is important to scan key journals in your subject area to keep up to date. The Articles in Press feature displays the most current articles before they have been officially given a volume and issue number. When you have selected a journal, Articles in Press appears on the left, just below the journal cover image.

What to do if the Library doesn’t stock an article

In the course of searching these specialist resources, you may find articles that we do not have access to in our Library collection. If this happens, we can get the articles for you through our Document Supply Service.

This link is the information about how to use the Document Supply Service at Sheffield Hallam.

Document Supply Service

Food and Nutrition

Why you should use journal articles

Key journals databases

Annual Reviews

Browse key journals

What to do if the Library doesn’t stock an article

Find us

Contact us

Information