LibGuides: Health: Books &amp; Ebooks

Finding and Accessing Books

Hallam Library uses a number system for print books. You'll need this shelfmark number to find your books. You can browse the shelves, but it is better to use Library Search to browse. You can create your own 'mini Library' in Library Search and then use that to locate your books. There's information about how to do that here: https://libguides.shu.ac.uk/libhelp/librarysearch#s-lg-box-wrapper-18104817

Remember, you will also have reading lists for a lot of your modules so make sure you use them, too!

The below information tells you how to find and access both print and ebooks:

Ebooks: Follow the information in this section to access ebooks that we have to support your studies. You can also see some of the popular collections of ebooks in this link: https://libguides.shu.ac.uk/pages/ebooks.

Print Books: Firstly, check that there is no ebook available to support your topic! We have a lot of the content available as ebooks as well as in print. If you do need to use a print book, search the Library resources, using Library Search. Search for either the title of the book you need, if you know it, or put some keywords into the search box. When you have found the title you want, use the shelfmark number you find in the record to locate the book in the library.

If there is a print book that you would like and we do not have it in the collection, you can use either our 'suggest a purchase' or 'Document Supply' service to request it. Links here: https://libguides.shu.ac.uk/pages/documentsupply

Using eBooks

The Library aims to have both eBook and print versions of books as we know both formats are important especially when studying away from the University. Unfortunately publishers do not always offer an eBook in a format suitable for library use, or it is not available at the time we order the print version.

How to find eBooks

Go to the Library Gateway at: https://library.shu.ac.uk
Search for your keywords in Library Search e.g anatomy.
To the left of your search results click on Books / eBooks and Online.
Choose a book and follow the link(s) available under Find online. The links will either say View online at: or the name of an eBook provider.

Reading eBooks

How you can use an eBook depends on terms and conditions set by the publisher. In most cases you will be able to choose between reading online and downloading the eBook for a limited period to your own device. When downloaded eBooks expire you can download them again.

Most eBooks can be read by more than one reader at a time but sometimes you may have to wait if another reader is using the book.You can search within individual eBooks, add notes and print or copy a limited number of pages from most eBooks.

Further help

If you need further help please take a look at the Library Help guide: eBooks section or get in contact. You can find a link to the Library Help guide below.

Ebook Collections

You might find these ebook collections useful for your studies. You can search these collections independently, or you can use Library Search to find more ebooks.

New Books

All of the books in this list are online and can be accessed by clicking on the link. You can discover more by using Library Search and searching using keywords for resources on your topic.

'and a Seed Was Planted... ' Occupation Based Approaches for Social Inclusion by Nick Pollard (Editor); Hanneke van Bruggen (Editor); Sarah Kantartzis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781861776068
Publication Date: 2023-01-09
Occupational therapy originated in social reform, but early in its history became allied with medicine and a biomedical perspective. Over the last two decades the profession has recognized the value of the work of its pioneers and sought to argue for principles such as occupational justice and occupational balance, social inclusion, and for forms of involvement based in the community which centre on people doing things together. This is the thrid volume of a three-volume work develops these perspectives. The first volume is now available. The second and third volumes follow soon. The Editors and contributors lay out the theoretical background, and then through many vivid case studies show how these ideas are being put into practice internationally. And a seed was planted... includes theoretical perspectives, evaluations of projects in practice and education, approaches to working with communities, participatory approaches and research. And a seed was planted ... offers 40 chapters by 85 authors with contributions from 20 countries in five continents.
Edited by SHU Lecturer Nick Pollard
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods by Richard A. McPherson; Matthew R. Pincus
ISBN: 9780323295680
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Recognized as the definitive reference in laboratory medicine since 1908, Henry's Clinical Diagnosis continues to offer state-of-the-art guidance on the scientific foundation and clinical application of today's complete range of laboratory tests. Employing a multidisciplinary approach, it presents the newest information available in the field, including new developments in technologies and the automation platforms on which measurements are performed. Provides guidance on error detection, correction, and prevention, as well as cost-effective test selection. Features a full-color layout, illustrations and visual aids, and an organization based on organ system. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Features the latest knowledge on cutting-edge technologies of molecular diagnostics and proteomics. Includes a wealth of information on the exciting subject of omics; these extraordinarily complex measurements reflect important changes in the body and have the potential to predict the onset of diseases such as diabetes mellitus. Coverage of today's hottest topics includes advances in transfusion medicine and organ transplantation; molecular diagnostics in microbiology and infectious diseases; point-of-care testing; pharmacogenomics; and the microbiome. Toxicology and Therapeutic Drug Monitoring chapter discusses the necessity of testing for therapeutic drugs that are more frequently being abused by users.
Emergency and Trauma Care for Nurses and Paramedics by Julie Considine; Kate Curtis; Clair Ramsden; Ramon Z. Shaban; Margaret Fry
Call Number: 616.025 CUR
ISBN: 9780729542982
Publication Date: 2019-08-07
The text provides nursing and paramedicine students and clinicians with the opportunity to understand the best available evidence behind the treatment that is provided throughout the emergency care trajectory. This unique approach ultimately seeks to strengthen multidisciplinary care and equip readers with the knowledge and skills to provide safe, quality, emergency care. The 3rd edition builds on the strengths of previous editions and follows a patient journey and body systems approach, spanning the pre-hospital and hospital environments. Additional resources on evolve eBook on VitalSource Instructor resources: PowerPoint slides Test bank Paramedic test bank Case study questions and answers Image collection Additional case studies with answers and rationales Additional paramedic case studies with answers and rationales Student and Instructor resources: Additional case studies Additional paramedic case studies Videos Expanded editorial team, all internationally recognised researchers and leaders in Emergency Care Chapter 6 Patient safety and quality care in emergency All chapters revised to reflect the most up-to-date evidence-based research and practice Case studies and practice tips highlight cultural considerations and communication issues Aligns to NSQHSS 2e, NMBA and PBA Standards An eBook included in all print purchases
Fundamentals of Person-Centred Healthcare Practice by Brendan McCormack (Editor); Tanya McCance (Editor); Cathy Bulley (Editor); Donna Brown (Editor); Ailsa McMillan (Editor); Suzanne Martin (Editor)
Call Number: 610.696 FUN
ISBN: 9781119533085
Publication Date: 2021-03-22
Fundamentals of Person-Centred Healthcare Practice presents evidence-based perspectives on a broad range of approaches to person-centred practice in healthcare. Featuring contributions from internationally recognised experts in the field, this valuable textbook helps students and staff across healthcare disciplines understand the essential concepts of person-centred practice in various health-related contexts. Using the Person-centred Practice Framework--an innovative theoretical model based on more than two decades of research and practice--students develop a strong understanding of the different components of person-centredness, their connections and interactions, and how they can be implemented to promote positive healthcare experiences for care providers, service-users, and families.
Succeeding with your Master's Dissertation: a step-by-step guide by Biggam, John
ISBN: 9780335264483
This work demystifies the dissertation writing process. Taking a step-by-step approach to the dissertation life cycle, it provides clear guidance on how to gain marks, as well as how to avoid losing them.
Evidence-based practice for nursing and healthcare quality improvement by Lobiondo-Wood, Geri
Publication Date: 2019
This text provides a straightforward yet comprehensive guide to planning and conducting EBP and quality improvement projects
Surviving Your Placement in Health and Social Care by Healey
ISBN: 9780335235155
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Covers the main areas of placement learning, including: developing a learning contract; reflective practice; using supervision; managing time; evidence-based practice; capturing your learning in a personal and professional portfolio; and, failing placements. This book provides ideas and tools to use on your placement, and various case studies.
An introduction to health services research by Walker, Dawn-Marie
Publication Date: 2014
This is a step-by-step guide to research which mirrors the structure of a research project. It takes you through the thought process for designing and conducting your study from formulating the right research question at idea inception, ascertaining what methodologies and analysis can answer what type of questions, right through to dissemination.