Allied Health

Welcome to your subject guide! This guide includes a range of useful resources, links, and advice to help you find sources of information for your studies. Use the menu on the left hand side of the screen to navigate between different parts of the guide.

It is recommended that you have a thorough look over your subject guide, so that you are aware of the resources available and can come back to it when you need them. If you are doing an assignment for which materials from other disciplines might be relevant, you may find it useful to look at other subject guides as well.

Library staff aim to update this guide as regularly as possible. If you encounter a link that doesn’t work, or a piece of information that is no longer accurate, please contact the library so we can fix it.

Welcome to the subject guide for the Allied Health Professions (AHP).

The guide includes resources and information for Diagnostic Radiography, Therapeutic Radiography and Oncology, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Operating Department Practice and Paramedic Science. It also includes resources on Healthcare Management and Leadership.

Why use this guide?

The guide is intended to help you find books and journal articles and will give you some tips about using information resources. It brings together all the relevant resources for your subject area, to save you time looking for them yourself. It also contains information about Professional Bodies and other organisations relevant to the professions.

How to use the guide

Look to the left of this box: you will see the tabs indicating the sections, with a drop down menu underneath. Simply click on the relevant tab and this will give you the menu where you can choose your option.

The 'Journal Databases' tab contains links to the relevant databases for AHP research.

It is important to use these for your academic work as they contain the most up to date research for your field.

Depending on your topic of study, you may find these other guides useful too:

• Biosciences & Chemistry.
• Education & Autism.
• Food & Nutrition (particularly for Dietetics and Occupational Therapy).
• Nursing & Midwifery.
• Sport (particularly for Physiotherapy).

Most of your modules will have a reading list on the University's Reading List Online (RLO) system. Your reading lists contain recommended reading put together by your tutors. The RLO system links through to the library collection, so you can easily access the books, articles, and other resources for each module.

You can find the reading list for a module:

• by searching on the RLO platform, which is linked under Popular Links on the Library homepage
• by following the 'Reading list' link under 'Module Information' on the Blackboard module site 

Your reading lists act as key starting points to develop your subject knowledge. However, university study also involves doing your own independent research and reading. The resources and advice on this subject guide can help you find the information you need for your studies.

For more information about reading lists, check out the Student RLO guide.