Publish high quality empirical articles and reviews with a primary focus on applied topics. These areas will include but not be limited to diagnosis, incidence and prevalence, methods of evaluating treatment effects, educational, pharmacological, and psychological interventions across the life span. The primary audience for the journal will be researchers and clinicians with advanced degrees in the areas of mental health, education, communication disorders, rehabilitation, and allied disciplines.
The leading peer-reviewed, scholarly periodical focusing on all aspects of autism spectrum disorders and related developmental disabilities. JADD is committed to advancing the understanding of autism, including potential causes and prevalence (e.g., genetic, immunological, environmental); diagnosis advancements; and effective clinical care, education, and treatment for all individuals. JADD also seeks to promote the well-being of children and families by publishing scholarly papers on such subjects as health policy, legislation, advocacy, culture and society, and service provision as they pertain to the mental health of children and families.
GAP was established in 2000 to meet the needs of practitioners and parents living or working with individuals on the autism spectrum of all ages. The journal is multi-disciplinary in scope for professionals in services provided by health, social services and education as well as parents and individuals with autism spectrum. The aims of the journal are to :
- provide a platform to discuss and share good practice
- highlight the importance of the perspective of those on the autism spectrum and their families
- encourage a reflective and evaluative approach to the provision of services.
This journal is only available in print format in the Adsetts Library, but students and the unwaged can subscribe to this journal from as little as £40 p.a if they wish to.
The following databases may be particularly useful for Autism students.
Index and abstracts for health, social services, psychology, criminology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Coverage is from 1987 onwards. Updated monthly, with more than 1500 records added per update.
An index of articles from over 2,000 international journal publications.
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Scopus is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary abstract and database curated by subject matter experts. Scopus is also a citation index, which means that the records in the database contain information on citations made in that publication and it links that information so you can identify which publications have cited that one, and how many times a publication has been cited.
This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed.
The Autism podcast series (hosted by Dr Laura Crane) aims to showcase the latest research published in Autism: The International Journal of Research and Practice in a way that is accessible, easy to understand and has real world relevance. The podcasts are aimed at a broad audience, including academics, researchers, students, clinicians, journalists, policy makers, individuals with autism and their families, and anyone interested in autism spectrum disorders. All articles related to podcasts are freely available to download.
ScienceDirect provides journal articles and eBooks on the physics, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, health, computing and social sciences. The default search includes both ebooks and journal articles. You can use filters in your results to select between them: alternatively, you can use the search tab. Search results for eBooks are at chapter level. Alternative link via Shibboleth Articles and eBooks can be downloaded, saved permanently and kept as PDFs that you can view offline.
Social Care Online offers information and research on all aspects of social care, e.g. mental health, social policy . Check for full text access by copying and pasting the item title into Library Search.
Content is drawn from a range of resources including journal articles, websites, research reviews, legislation and government documents, and service user knowledge.
A database of the international literature in sociology and the social and behavioural sciences, it provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles. These references are linked both within Sociological Abstracts and across other social science databases available on Proquest.