Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education and Autism

Access to the collections

Our response to COVID-19 means that direct access to physical collections is not possible.   You can still request items using our Click and Collect service and we are working on a Click and Consult service which will allow you to come into the library to look at a selection of related books.

Collections on Adsetts Level 3

Teaching resources - Teaching practice: Books for use in the classroom and for lesson planning

Image of collection signage form the library

Teaching resources - resource packs: Games, media, activities and other resources for teaching practice

Image of collection signage form the library

TESOL learning & TESOL teaching: Resources for learners and teachers of English as an other or additional language

Image of collection signage form the library

Languages: Resources for Hallam modern language courses including British Sign Language

Image of collection signage form the library

Teaching Resources collections

The Teaching Resources collection includes resources for teaching practice and lesson planning. The collection is in the Adsetts Library on level 3.  The collection is in two parts:

  • TP: Teaching Practice - Books to be used in teaching practice and for lesson planning.  A large section of children's literature is also included. Some very large picture books are kept in special units in the collection.
  • RP: Resource Packs - Non-book material to be used in teaching practice such as loose leaf folders, games, DVDs and CDs. There is also a cabinet of mathematics activities next to the large book units.

The Collection includes material for all ages, from nursery and first school up to and including sixth form.  Some resources are also suitable for adult education. 

Books on the theory and practice of teaching particular curriculum subjects are in the main collection at Dewey numbers 372-372.99

You will also find collections to support TESOL and university language courses nearby.

We try to ensure that our collections reflect the diversity of children that our trainee teachers work with. 

Finding resources in the Teaching Resources collections

Library Search allows you to refine your search by Library Location and by Collection.  Scroll down in the left-hand sidebar until you see Library Location and select Adsetts Library.  Scroll down again to choose Teaching Resources under Physical Collection.

Teaching Resource materials are shown in Library Search by the Location field and shelfmark.  The first two letters of the shelfmark, TP or RP,  shows which part of the collection an item belongs to. 

School Library Services

Many schools subscribe to a schools' library service which you will be able to use to support your teaching during placement. Check with your school to find out what is available.

For example, the Sheffield Schools Library Service offers access to excellent resources. The collection has support for literacy through all school years and primary resources in all subjects. Many of the primary school resources may also be suitable for use at Key Stage 3.