LibGuides: Education and Autism: Education journals and databases

Explore online journals with Browzine

Explore the latest education journals with BrowZine.

Read on your desktop or download the mobile app.

Education databases

Databases are services that monitor publications in a subject or discipline, giving up-to-date access to specialist research articles and related publications. In most cases you will have direct access to the full text of articles. If the full text is not available you can request access through our Document Supply Service.

British Education Index This link opens in a new window
Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Particular strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs.
Content is included from over 250 English language periodicals published in the British Isles and in certain internationally published periodicals. Subject coverage includes : Cognitive development,Computer assisted learning, Curriculum, Educational policy,Educational psychology,Educational technology, Language acquisition, Training,Management in education, Multicultural education, Physical education, Science education, Special educational needs, Teacher education, Vocational education.

Introduciton to British Education Index

Education databases from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Thus is a collection of five databases from ProQuest. You can search them together or separately.

To use Advanced search select individual databases. Contents:
* ERIC
* Australian Education Index
* Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
* Sports Medicine & Education Index
* Education Database
Educational Research Abstracts Online This link opens in a new window
ERA is a comprehensive database comprising specially selected high-quality abstracts which cover the current international research in education. ERA includes links to the full-text online versions of articles where possible.
Coverage includes: Online access to seven leading international abstracting journals, plus two online only sections and a fully comprehensive general research file Sophisticated search facilities, including a controlled keyword list. Hypertext linking to full-text articles Abstracts linked by CrossRef, a collaborative reference linking service. Searches can be conducted by a choice of criteria and full search histories are stored. ERA is primarily aimed at researchers, academics, and students studying all fields of education but is also valuable to practitioners in the discipline. Coverage is broad ranging and abstracts are categorised into the following files: Child Development, Educational Management, Educational Technology, Health Education, Higher Education, Multicultural Education, Sociology of Education, Special Needs and Technical Education and Training. In addition, the 'General' file comprises abstracts from international educational which falls outside of these.

Research into Higher Education Abstracts
UK and international coverage of Higher Education. Produced by the Society for Research into Higher Education

IDP Database of Research on International Education This link opens in a new window
Australian Education International's searchable web database of research relevant to international education.
The database is updated monthly and currently contains details of 4,794 books, articles, conference papers and reports. It will help users to keep up to date with emerging trends and quickly locate research relevant to their needs. The database encompasses Australian and international research and, where possible, includes links to the full text of catalogued research. It also includes links to over forty relevant websites, other useful databases and a range of international education journals and publishers.
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Education Abstracts indexes journals dating back to 1983 and books from 1995 on a wide range of education topics
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
The Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Cross search available with all EBSCO databases, select Choose Databases and tick those you wish to add to your search.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstracting database for over 18,000 peer reviewed periodicals. Scopus is particularly useful for exploring citations, and analysing search results to see which authors are most cited and where results are published.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
You will need to register for free to use this service
A very large multi-disciplinary database which enables you to search millions of articles, proceedings, preprints, books and chapters. Full text searching is possible for 70% of the publications. Dimensions can also be used to gain insight into research impact and attention through citations and altmetrics and to see analytical views of your search results. Please note that only the publications search is available.

You can find material on teaching curriculum subjects in general databases and in specialist subject databases in other Subject Guides. The databases below are specialist databases with strong coverage on learning and teaching.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index of articles from over 2,000 international journal publications.
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.

Linguistics Database
Linguistics Database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new window
Index of peer review journals, conference proceedings, articles from the popular press and many other publications. Coverage includes, health, coaching, dance, sport sociology and sport medicine.
The material is updated monthly and the coverage is from 1970.

DATER: Design and Technology Education Research
*** DATER is no longer available *** This is a collection of journal articles, conference papers and websites from Loughborough University and DATA (Design & Technology Association). There are many useful things but most of the resources are archived so you may need to look elsewhere for the most up-to-date material.

Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight has wide coverage of management and organisation topics including many resources on management and development in education.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Educational Administration Abstracts indexes over 190000 records Topics include educational leadership, research and management.
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 190,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Educational Administration Quarterly, Review of Higher Education, Journal of Educational Administration, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1966

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for health, social services, psychology, criminology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Coverage is from 1987 onwards. Updated monthly, with more than 1500 records added per update.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Abstracting database covering the development of children and young people up to age 21, Child Development & Adolescent Studies includes journals, technical reports books and theses from biomedical and social sciences.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed.

Coverage: 1806 - current

News

Nexis This link opens in a new window
Nexis is a major full text database for global news and business information. It gives access to over 35,000 sources, with more than 12,000 international news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals.

Alternative link - please note that, the first time you use this link, you will be asked to enter your first name and last name in order to access Nexis.
Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Professional practice journals

You can use professional practice or trade publications to keep up to date with news, ideas, events and job opportunities in your area. Some useful publications are:

You can also explore education and other news through Nexis:

Nexis This link opens in a new window
National, local and international news sources.
Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.