LibGuides: Education and Autism: Professional practice

Early Career Hub: Chartered College of Teaching:

Essential resources for trainee teachers and education students

The Early Career Hub contains articles, interactive content and high-quality classroom footage created by teachers and academics, aligned to the Early Career Framework and Teachers’ Standards and tailored to the needs of early career teachers.

The Early Career Hub is available free to all student teachers and students on postgraduate courses related to education, and discounted for NQT members of the Chartered College and for teaching assistants and school support staff.

The Chartered College of Teaching: See all membership options.

Subject associations

Most curriculum subjects are supported by professional associations.

The Council for Subject Associations (CfSA) acts as a coordinating body for subject associations and produces a directory of subject associations.

The CfSA directory
This quick reference, digital directory covers subjects taught in schools. It is subject focused and signposts to the subject associations and SEND organisations.

Educational newspapers

Here are a range of newspaper sources to help you keep up to date.

Times Higher Education Supplement This link opens in a new window
You need register ON CAMPUS to access our subscription. The Times Higher Education Supplement reports on and debates the latest developments in the international academic community, covering everything from academic research and training to government policy, information technology and industry links.
News coverage on-line is updated daily. Job vacancies and daily news items are available free, but unlimited access to the main Times Higher web site is exclusive to subscribers at no extra charge.
The subscription site contains the full archive of the paper since 1994 and provides additional resources, including higher education statistics and research funding opportunities, not carried in full in the paper.

SecEd
From the website: "SecEd prides itself on being written by teachers, for teachers and on presenting the profession with a positive voice for teachers working throughout secondary education in the UK."
Nexis
Nexis is a major full text database for global news and business information. It gives access to over 35,000 sources, with more than 12,000 international news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals.
more...less...
Search Tip: Select “Market Insight” to access selected country reports.

Educational support

Here are a range of organisations with content related to educational support.

British Association for Early Years Education
We provide support, training, advice & information on best practice for all who are involved in the education and care of young children from birth to eight.
National Children's Bureau
The National Children's Bureau is a leading charity that for 50 years has been improving the lives of children and young people, especially the most vulnerable. We work with children and for children, to influence government policy, be a strong voice for young people and practitioners, and provide creative solutions on a range of social issues.
National Autistic Society
We are the leading UK charity for people with autism (including Asperger syndrome) and their families. We provide information, support and pioneering services, and campaign for a better world for people with autism. Our work relies on your support, so please get involved or donate today.

Youth work

National Youth Agency
The National Youth Agency believes that now more than ever young people need youth workers. Youth workers dedicate their time and expertise to helping young people in their personal and social development, equipping them with the practical skills they need to be resilient in challenging times, and positive contributors to future economic growth.
The NYA works to support youth workers to do that more effectively, and for more young people.
We do this by
• Championing the work of youth workers
• Enabling youth workers to do what they do
• Supporting the recognition of youth work as a profession