LibGuides: Education and Autism: Books and eBooks

Specialist eBook collections

Most of the eBooks we provide are discoverable by searching Library Search, but it is also possible to search some eBook collections directly. Below are some individual collections that might be of interest.

SAGE Research Methods Books and Reference This link opens in a new window
This is a fantastic collection of books, case studies and videos exploring and illustrating research methods for the social sciences.

Human Kinetics Library
Large collection covering physical education, sport and dance.

Multidisciplinary eBook collections

The Library has a range of eBook collections. You can search Library Search to find eBooks about many different subjects and that approach may be quicker than searching individual collections. You can also browse or search with the collections directly.

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers.

Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases relating to art, business, communication, film and television, history, medicine, sport etc. which can be searched individually or collectively. The resources offer abstracts, full-text journal articles, news items, company reports, and peer-reviewed sources. Includes some full text. alternative link

OAPEN
OAPEN is a platform supporting open access publishing of peer reviewed books.

Taylor and Francis SHU eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of selected ebooks published by Taylor and Francis, who publish across a wide range of subjects and disciplines including humanities, social sciences, education, behavioural sciences, built environment and law. Filter to "Show content I have access to" to see books SHU subscribes to.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
This database contains all the VLE ebook titles that Sheffield Hallam have access to. This includes the Dawsonera ebook titles.

Finding books on the shelves

Books are arranged in the library by shelfmarks. Each book has a number followed by at least two letters. Signs on the end of shelves tell you what numbers are on the shelves. Books with the same or similar numbers will deal with related topics.

Useful shelfmarks for education and autism:
Subject	Shelfmark
Assessment	371.26
Autism	618.9285882
Child psychology	155.4
Disability studies	305.908 or 362.4
Learning	153.15
Philosophy for children/ Moral and social education	370.114
Parent-teacher relations	371.192
Primary education	372.1
Secondary education	373
Further/adult education	374
Higher education	378
Special education	371.2
Equality in education	379.26

Diversity in children's books

A report by SHU researchers calls for more diversity in books for children.

Harris, C., Stiell, B., & Leather, D. (2019). Time for change: Black and minority ethnic representation in the children’s literature sector. (A report for Arts Council England). Retrieved from https://www.artscouncil.org.uk/publication/diversity-children%E2%80%99s-literature-report-2019

We have a large collection of children's literature and teaching resources in the library and in recent years we have worked to make our collections more representative of the diversity of children that our student teachers work with. We are proud of our collections but we are sure that there is much more that we can do. We welcome suggestions for resources to add to the collections and other ways in which we can improve them.

We created a list for younger readers for Black History Month:

A selection of fiction and non fiction books to share with younger readers