LibGuides: Education and Autism: Home

Welcome

Photo credit: Sheffield Hallam University

Welcome to the subject guide for Education and Autism. This guide is designed to direct you to the essential resources for your subject. The guide has been compiled by your Subject Librarian.

The guide has been divided into different sections such as books, journals and other resources. When selected, each of these tabs expands to give you a further menu with more specific options such as prize winning books or library databases that will help you find the latest research

This guide covers the core resources you need for day-to-day study and research. However, you may sometimes find other subject guides useful for related topics.

Early Career Hub: Chartered College of Teaching:

Essential resources for trainee teachers and education students

The Early Career Hub contains articles, interactive content and high-quality classroom footage created by teachers and academics, aligned to the Early Career Framework and Teachers’ Standards and tailored to the needs of early career teachers.

The Early Career Hub is available free to all student teachers and students on postgraduate courses related to education, and discounted for NQT members of the Chartered College and for teaching assistants and school support staff.

Membership is free for trainee teachers and PG education students – for 12 months, or until you finish your course, whichever is longer. NQT membership is £2 a month. Teaching Assistant/support membership £1.25 a month. Prices may change, last checked December 2023.

The Chartered College of Teaching: See all membership options.

Meanwhile, Back in the Library...

Meanwhile, Back in the Library... Was an exhibition and series of events in the library to celebrate the richness and value of comics. The exhibition is over but you can find out more about how comics can be used for teaching and learning, and for working with children, from the exhibition website. Here is a small selection of great comic books from our collections:

Dog Man Unleashed by Dav Pilkey
Call Number: TP 828 PilkeyD
ISBN: 9780545935203
Publication Date: 2016
The Graphic Novel Classroom by Maureen Bakis; James Bucky Carter (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781629140889
Publication Date: 2014
Raising an Autistic Child by Keiko Tobe; Satsuki Yamashita (Translator); Akita Shoten (Illustrator)
Call Number: 741.5 TO
ISBN: 9780759523562
Publication Date: 2007
Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered by Quentin Blake; John Cassidy
Call Number: Teaching Resources 741.2
ISBN: 9781570543203
Publication Date: 1999
To Teach: the journey, in comics by Williams Ayers, Ryan Alexander-Tanner
Call Number: 372.102
ISBN: 9780807750629
Publication Date: 2010
What Does Consent Really Mean? by Pete Wallis; Thalia Wallis; Joseph Wilkins
Call Number: Available soon
ISBN: 9781848193307
Publication Date: 2017-11-21

Key library databases for education

These are the most used education databases. Use them to find the latest research in education and related subjects. Go to Education journals, Autism journals and Research pages for a wider choice of databases.

British Education Index This link opens in a new window
Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Particular strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs.
Content is included from over 250 English language periodicals published in the British Isles and in certain internationally published periodicals. Subject coverage includes : Cognitive development,Computer assisted learning, Curriculum, Educational policy,Educational psychology,Educational technology, Language acquisition, Training,Management in education, Multicultural education, Physical education, Science education, Special educational needs, Teacher education, Vocational education.
Education databases from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Thus is a collection of five databases from ProQuest. You can search them together or separately.

Contents: ERIC, Australian Education Index, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, Sports Medicine & Education Index, Education Database.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for health, social services, psychology, criminology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Coverage is from 1987 onwards. Updated monthly, with more than 1500 records added per update.
Educational Research Abstracts Online This link opens in a new window
ERA is a comprehensive database comprising specially selected high-quality abstracts which cover the current international research in education. ERA includes links to the full-text online versions of articles where possible.
Coverage includes: Online access to seven leading international abstracting journals, plus two online only sections and a fully comprehensive general research file Sophisticated search facilities, including a controlled keyword list. Hypertext linking to full-text articles Abstracts linked by CrossRef, a collaborative reference linking service. Searches can be conducted by a choice of criteria and full search histories are stored. ERA is primarily aimed at researchers, academics, and students studying all fields of education but is also valuable to practitioners in the discipline. Coverage is broad ranging and abstracts are categorised into the following files: Child Development, Educational Management, Educational Technology, Health Education, Higher Education, Multicultural Education, Sociology of Education, Special Needs and Technical Education and Training. In addition, the 'General' file comprises abstracts from international educational which falls outside of these.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Access to subscribed journals and eBooks published by Emerald. Subject coverage: business, management, marketing, retailing, economics, education, engineering and library and information science.

Education news feeds

Department for Education

Guardian Education

BBC Education