Skip to main content

Food and Nutrition

COVID-19 advice

COVID-19 update

Please check the latest Sheffield Hallam University Coronavirus (COVID-19) advice for staff and students. 


The health and safety of students and staff is our top priority. In line with national public health guidance regarding COVID-19, and to protect you and help stop the spread of coronavirus, Adsetts and Collegiate libraries closed on 5pm Monday 23rd March until further notice.

Please check our dedicated online guide for more information and to find out how to make the most of your library off-campus.

If you cannot get online from home, access specialist software, or the other learning resources you need to complete assessments or prepare for examinations, please contact Hallam Help.

Resources on request (RoR)

Your Library, your resources on request (RoR)

If you cannot find and access the item you need using Library Search or your subject guide, please make a request using this form and we will do our best to provide you with electronic access or suggest alternative resources within one working day.

RoR request form: bit.ly/libraryror

We can provide access to electronic books, book chapters, journal articles or media such as film and TV recordings.

Please note you will need to complete this form for each item you require.

Your Library is working closely with publishers to extend access to online resources and an up to date list is available on our guide: you can now access more eBooks section. 

Resources On Request (ROR) is an emergency service that we have developed in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we adapt our services to support your learning, teaching and research off-campus.

If you would like something added to the library collection for September 2020 please Suggest a Purchase.

 

Welcome

Welcome to the subject guide for Food and Nutrition. This guide will help you to find the books, journals and other information you need for your work.

From: https://www.flickr.com/photos/usnationalarchives/5531627685/

Image credit: 'Know your onions' by The U.S. National Archives via Flickr (Public domain)

How to use journal literature in your research

Researching journal literature is an interactive online learning resource will help you to get started with literature searching. It includes tips on the main things to think about before starting your search, and guides you to the most appropriate journals for assignments, literature reviews, dissertation and extended projects.  It should be of use if you are:

  • struggling to manage and plan your search;
  • finding too many or too few results; or
  • thinking about using the advanced search features

Key databases

These are just seven of the amazing food related databases that are available to you! There are many more databases listed under the Journals, Market research and Company information tabs.

AccessScience is also included here as it is a wide-ranging, regularly-updated online science encyclopedia which covers Food Science.

Happy searching!

Make time for keeping up to date with your industry

IGD reports

IGD research is in the area of food, grocery and consumer goods.

SHU Research: National Centre of Excellence for Food Engineering

Meanwhile, Back in the Library...

This academic year, the library has put on the exhibition Meanwhile, Back in the Library..., celebrating the role of comics and graphic novels in the academic library. Here's a small selection of relevant titles: but you can find out more about the exhibition, the comics we have in stock, and how comics can be used in learning from the exhibition website.

Look at these great new books in the Library...

Take a look here to find out what new books have recently arrived in the Library. Many of these are new editions of recommended resources listed for your modules, great new books about new research related to food and nutrition areas or extra copies of the books that you like to borrow.

Happy reading!

SAGE collections

Sage Research Methods (SRM) is a fantastic collection of books, case studies and videos exploring and illustrating research methods for the social sciences.  

  • Books include Little Green Books and Little Blue Books, short guides to quantitative and qualitative research methods
  • Over 1000 case studies illustrating research methods
  • Videos exploring all aspects of the research process
  • SRM Project Planner - accessible advice on every stage of the research process from defining a question to writing up and sharing your research
  • We don't subscribe to everything from SRM - use 'Refine By' when searching and browsing to see what is available at SHU
Loading ...

Recommend something for the Library

We are always looking for new publications to support your learning and teaching, and to keep the library collections up to date with high-quality materials.  If you think we're missing something crucial though, we'd like to hear about it.  

You can suggest a purchase to the Library using the Suggest a Purchase link below.