LibGuides: Business, Management and Marketing: Economic and Financial Data (including Bloomberg Professional)

Bloomberg Professional

The Bloomberg terminals have relocated to a new and exciting trading floor temporarily located in Norfolk Building Room 504, before moving to the brand new Langsett Building in the heart of the city campus, ready for the new academic year. Bloomberg is terminal access only.

The Bloomberg Professional contains international company financials, stock market statistics and other global economic and investment data as well as the latest business news from around the world.

The PDF document (below) guides you through how to search the database:

Bloomberg Professional User Guide
How to search using Bloomberg
User guide for searching Bloomberg
Bloomberg Market Concept (BMC) Guidance
The BMC is an online, interactive course that introduces the financial markets. There is an opportunity to gain a certificate which can strengthen your employability.
This document provides instructions of how to log into the course on a Bloomberg terminal.
Adding the Bloomberg Tab on Excel
If you would like to extract data from Bloomberg, the Bloomberg Excel Add-In can help you do this through the Spreadsheet Builder tool.
This document provides instructions for adding the Bloomberg Excel Add-In if the Bloomberg tab is not appearing on Excel.

Getting Started with Bloomberg
This video will introduce you to using Bloomberg for the first time.
more...less...
Content includes:
- Registering and logging into
Bloomberg.
- How to search.
- Saving and exporting to Excel.
- Citing and referencing Bloomberg.
- Further support (including accessing
Bloomberg Market Concepts).

Alternatives to Bloomberg

FT.com
SHU students can access the Financial Times online using the University's institutional subscription. See the Markets section for stock market data and statistics.

Filings Expert This link opens in a new window
Filings Expert provides access to over 14 million global company filings. Available information includes, annual reports; investor presentations, press releases and SEC filings.
Marketline Advantage This link opens in a new window
Marketline Advantage provides quality information on industries, countries and companies and is updated daily. It has interactive reports and databases and is ideal for understanding companies and sectors.

ShareCast
Free website providing access to UK and international share prices, live trading charts, international company research and financial market news alerts. Published by Web Financial Group
FE Trustnet
Free website providing daily updated analysis and price/performance data on UK Unit Trusts, OEICs, Investment Trusts, Pension, Insurance Bond and Offshore Funds, Structured Products, ETFs and VCTs.
UK Debt Management Office (DMO)
The DMO is an Executive Agency of the UK government Treasury department. Includes free access to price and yield data for UK Gilts.
London Stock Exchange
Market prices, news and statistics from the London Stock Exchange in the UK.
Bloomberg.com
US website providing finance news, stock market data, and personal finance resources. Can be used as a less comprehensive, but free, online alternative to the Bloomberg Professional service.
Yahoo Finance
General finance portal. Includes stock market data, company news, economics news and personal finance. Can be used as a less comprehensive, but free, online alternative to the Bloomberg Professional service.

Business, Management and Marketing

Bloomberg Professional

Alternatives to Bloomberg

Find us

Contact us

Information