Business, Management and Marketing

In academic writing, it is essential to support your discussions and arguments with reliable, published sources. Personal opinions such as 'I believe...' are not sufficient on their own: you must back up your claims with credible evidence from academic literature.

This evidence is usually published as an academic journal article. These sources are typically found in academic databases and, in some cases, through platforms like Google Scholar. Using these resources ensures you access high-quality, relevant information. The Library provides these databases in collaboration with your lecturers and academic staff, helping you find the most appropriate materials for your subject area.

So it is important that you understand why you need to use these sources, develop your skills and knowledge of how research is published, and which resources are most applicable to your subject areas.

Journal articles are papers that publish current evidence in academic [or professional] journals. They are published frequently and are written by experts in the field of research investigated. They have several functions:

• To share original research in the form of primary research articles;
• To review previously published primary research in the form of 'review' or 'secondary' research articles;
• To discuss theoretical concepts within a particular field of research.

Journal articles have some defining features:

• Generally focus on one specific topic or research area;
• Have a structured format, consisting of abstract, introduction, methods, results, discussion and conclusions;
• Will include previously published research on that topic in the form of a literature review;
• High-quality articles will be peer-reviewed by other experts in that field prior to publication - given the 'gold star';
• Are published in academic journals.

Most journal articles are published in online databases, but in some subject areas you may need to use our print journal collection.  The journals can be used only in the Library in Adsetts level 5, at the top of the stairs, however you can photocopy from them within the limits of copyright.  

The collection is stored in alphabetical order according to the first letter of the journal title.

Many academic databases that index journal articles also include conference papers, sometimes referred to as conference proceedings. These papers are based on presentations given at academic or industry conferences. While some conference papers present complete research studies, many report on preliminary findings or work in progress. They can be published in journals, edited volumes, or online platforms.

Trade publications, sometimes also called trade journals - are publications aimed at professionals in specific fields of trade or industry. They differ from academic journals in key ways:

Audience

• Written for people working in a particular field (e.g., construction, fashion, IT).
• Often read by practitioners, managers, and industry experts.

Content

• Includes news, trends, product reviews, interviews, and practical advice.
• May feature case studies, opinion pieces, and updates on regulations or standards.
• Less emphasis on original research or peer review compared to academic journals.

Purpose

• To inform professionals about developments in their field.
• To support decision-making and professional practice.

You can find most Business, Management and Marketing journal articles by searching Library Search. But if you need to do a more in-depth search of the literature, you will also find these databases useful.

The following databases cover a broader range of disciplines and offer the opportunity to explore subject matter related to Business, Management and Marketing.

It is important to scan key journals in your subject area to keep up to date. The Articles in Press feature displays the most current articles before they have been officially given a volume and issue number. When you have selected a journal, Articles in Press appears on the left, just below the journal cover image.

In the course of searching these specialist resources, you may find articles that we do not have access to in our Library collection. If this happens, we can get the articles for you through our Document Supply Service.

This link is the information about how to use the Document Supply Service at Sheffield Hallam.

• Document Supply Service