UK and international survey and statistical data drawn from a range of respected sources including: United Nations, IMF, OECD, World Bank, International Labour Organization (ILO), International Energy Agency (IEA), Eurostat and UNIDO. Free registration required to access some parts of the database.
The main gateway to UK official statistics. Provides direct access to tables of data, full text publications and the latest official releases. Covers Britain's economy, population and society at national and regional levels. Updated daily
Archived statistical data is available through this archived website. The ONS website allows the user to find data via the release calendar or by browsing by themes, area, place or region. The 2011 Census for England and Wales data is also available.
Free access to the world's major international statistics from the United Nations. Includes statistics from the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO); International Labour Organization (ILO); International Monetary Fund (IMF); International Telecommunications Union (ITU); Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD); The World Bank; UNESCO; United Nations (UN); World Health Organization (WHO); World Tourism Organization (WTO).
UK Government official Treasury Department statistics.
Local, Regional and City information
Most of the sources listed above will only provide statistics at national level. It can sometimes be quite difficult to find sub-national data. Here are a few sources worth trying to get sub-national data at local, regional or city level:
provides guides to regional and local business information sources in the UK (see: Local Area Profiles).
It includes factsheets, opportunity profiles, market reports, contacts, news, development tools and details of sources of funding. Three users are allowed at a time so if you cannot access it, try again later.COBRA provides useful information related to starting up and running a small business. It includes factsheets, opportunity profiles, market reports, contacts, news, development tools and details of sources of funding. Three users are allowed at a time so if you cannot access it, try again later.