LibGuides: Business, Management and Marketing: Books &amp; eBooks

Finding books in the Library

Most Business, Management and Marketing books can be found in Adsetts Library. To find details of the exact location and availability of books, including eBooks, use Library Search. The shelfmark will tell you where to find the book in the Library. The shelfmark number is located on the spine of each book and the books are arranged in numerical order in the Library. Books on the same subject are given the same shelfmark number.

If you need a book that is not available in the library or as an eBook, our Document Supply Service may be able to get a copy for you. Use the shelfmark you find on Library Search to locate the book in the library. Here are some common shelfmarks:

Advertising	659.1
Brands	658.827
Business Ethics	174.4
Business law	346.07
Company law	346.066
Competitiveness	338.6048
Consumer behaviour	658.834
Corporate strategy	658.401
Cross-cultural management	658.049
Decision making	658.403
Entrepreneurship	338.04
Facilities management	658.2
Globalisation	337
Human resource management	658.3
International business	658.18
International trade	382
Leadership	303.34
Managing change	658.406
Marketing	658.8
Motivation	658.314
Operations management	658.5
Strategic planning	658.4012

eBook collections

The Library offers access to tens of thousands of eBooks on a variety of subjects. Use Library Search on the Library homepage to locate and access eBooks. Take a look at the following guide for further information:

Using and working with eBooks

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Taylor and Francis SHU eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window

OAPEN Library

Oxford Reference Online Business and Management Collection

Looking for a quick definition of a business or management concept?

Use this link for direct full-text searchable access to six Oxford University Press titles: A Dictionary of Accounting, A Dictionary of Business and Management, A Dictionary of Finance and Banking, A Dictionary of Human Resource Management, A Dictionary of Marketing, and The Handbook of International Financial Terms.

Alternatively, search the whole Oxford reference collection using the tool below.

Oxford Reference Online Search Box Example

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

A dictionary of business and management [ELECTRONIC BOOK] covering all areas of modern business practice. Includes coverage of terms and concepts. It also looks at issues such as Internet business, private equity and structured finance.
Publication Date: 2009
A Dictionary of Economics (4th ed.) [ELECTRONIC BOOK] An authoritative and comprehensive dictionary containing clear, concise definitions of over 3,400 key economic terms, this A to Z covers all aspects of economics including economic theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, and environmental economics. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions from around the world. Fully revised to keep up-to-date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include terms relevant to the financial crisis, such as black swan, credit crunch, Northern Rock, and Iceland, making this dictionary the most up-to-date available. Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutionalacronyms and their affiliated websites, a list of Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites. As ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, this dictionary remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as for professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.
Publication Date: 2012
Key management models (2nd edition) [ELECTRONIC BOOK] From SWOT analysis and core competencies to risk reward analysis and the innovation circle, Key Management Models concisely explains over 61 models. Available in electronic and print versions.
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of leadership [ELECTRONIC BOOK]
Publication Date: 2004
373 alphabetically arranged entries. Approximately one third of the entries provide biographical information about men and women who have made significant contributions to the field. Other categories include case studies, leadership studies, followership, women and gender, personal characteristics of model leaders, leadership styles, and leadership theories.
Encyclopedia of business ethics and society [ELECTRONIC BOOK]
Publication Date: 2007
The encyclopedia focuses on the role played by business with regard to the environment in which it exists. Includes coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of businesses to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, the relationship of business to the quality of the environment, including the issue of environmental sustainability. Also available for reference in the Adsetts Centre at 174.403 EN (Level 2).
Encyclopedia of applied ethics [ELECTRONIC BOOK]
Publication Date: 2012
includes 376 articles on current, historical and theoretical issues, and ethical and philosophical approaches (historical and contemporary, religious and secular). Articles feature suggested readings, a list of related websites, a short glossary and definition, and cross-references to related articles in the encyclopedia. Subject categories include Applied Ethics; Bioethics; Computers and Information Management; Economics/Business; Environmental Ethics; Ethics and Politics; Legal; Medical Ethics; Philosophy/Theories; Social; Social/Media.
World encyclopedia of entrepreneurship [ELECTRONIC BOOK]
Publication Date: 2013
Includes entries on numerous aspects of entrepreneurship, written by academics. Topics covered include: business angels, defining the entrepreneur, employee start-ups, entrepreneurship policy, ethics, ethnic minority entrepreneurship, family business, global entrepreneurship and transnationalism, Islam and entrepreneurship, social entrepreneurship and venture capital.

A dictionary of human resource management [ELECTRONIC BOOK]
Publication Date: 2008
Definitions of words, terms, and phrases that are used in the fields of Human Resource Management, Personnel, and Industrial Relations.
The encyclopedia of human resource management [ELECTRONIC BOOK]
Publication Date: 2012
Volume 1: short entries. Volume 2: HR forms and job aids. Volume 3: thematic essays.
SAGE directions in organization studies [ELECTRONIC BOOK]
Publication Date: 2009
This four-volume set brings together over sixty of the key papers published in SAGE books and journals since the turn of the millennium. Emphasis is placed on the 'history of the present' of organization studies, with articles that discuss contemporary issues and foreshadow further developments in the field, across popular theoretical perspectives such as discourse analysis, institutional theory and complexity theory.
International encyclopedia of organization studies (4 volumes)
Publication Date: 2008
Offers a comprehensive overview of many of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterise organization studies. Available for reference in the Adsetts Centre at 302.3503 IN (Level 2).
Encyclopedia of Management Theory [ELECTRONIC BOOK] In discussing a management topic, scholars, educators, practitioners, and the media often toss out the name of a theorist (Taylor, Simon, Weber) or make a sideways reference to a particular theory (bureaucracy, total quality management, groupthink) and move on, as if assuming their audience possesses the necessary background to appreciate and integrate the reference. This is often far from the case. Individuals are frequently forced to seek out a hodgepodge of sources varying in quality and presentation to provide an overview of a particular idea. This work is designed to serve as a core reference for anyone interested in the essentials of contemporary management theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses to thoughtfully apply them. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research as one might find in a handbook. And, like an unabridged dictionary, it provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.
Publication Date: 2013

Wiley international encyclopedia of marketing (7 volumes)
Publication Date: 2011
An international guide to marketing concepts and applications. Volume 1: Marketing Strategy. Volume 2: Marketing Research. Volume 3: Consumer Behavior. Volume 4: Advertising and Integrated Communication. Volume 5: Product Innovation and Management. Volume 6: International Marketing. Volume 7: Index. Available for reference in Adsetts Library at 658.8003 WI (Level 5).
A Dictionary of Marketing (3rd ed.) [ELECTRONIC BOOK] by Oxford Reference Online A Dictionary of Marketing is an accessible and wide-ranging A-Z, providing over 2,600 entries on topics spanning terms for traditional marketing techniques (from strategy, positioning, segmentation, and branding, to all aspects of marketing planning, research, and analysis), as well as leading marketing theories and concepts. Both classic and modern marketing techniques are covered. Entries reflect modern changes in marketing practice, including the use of digital and multi media, the impact of the world wide web on advertising, and the increased influence of social media, search engine optimization, and global marketing. Also included is a time line of the development of marketing as a discipline and the key events that impacted the development, as well as over 100 relevant web links, accessed and updated via a companion website. In addition, the main appendix provides greater depth on the subject, including advertising and brand case studies with a strong international focus.These are arranged thematically, e.g. automobile industry, food and drink, luxury goods, and focus on iconic brands, marketing campaigns, and slogans of the 20th century that have permeated our collective consciousness, exploring how the ideas defined in the main text of the book have been utilised successfully in practice across the globe. This dictionary is an indispensable resource for students of marketing and related disciplines, as well as a practical guide for professional practitioners.
Publication Date: 2011
Marketing theory (3 volumes)
Publication Date: 2008
Volume 1: The development of marketing theory and its philosophical underpinnings. Volume 2: Major theoretical debates and contemporary issues in marketing theory. Volume 3: The impact of theory on representations of the consumer and the marketing organisation. Available for reference at Adsetts Library, 658.8001 MA (Level 5).
The advanced dictionary of marketing: putting theory to use
Publication Date: 2008
This dictionary of marketing terms focuses on key concepts, grouped into four categories: concepts, laws, theories, and effects. Contains over 500 entries, ranging in length and depth. Electronic version available. Available for reference or to borrow in the Adsetts Centre at 658.8003 DA (Level 5).
The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of marketing [ELECTRONIC BOOK]
Publication Date: 1999
The Dictionary covers the important traditional and contemporary issues in marketing.