Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education and Autism

Welcome

Photo credit: Sheffield Hallam University

Welcome to the subject guide for Education and Autism.  This guide is designed to direct you to the essential resources for your subject. The guide has been compiled by your Subject Librarian.

The guide has been divided into different sections such as books,  journals and other resources. When selected, each of these tabs expands to give you a further menu with more specific options such as prize winning books or library databases that will help you find the latest research

This guide covers the core resources you need for day-to-day study and research.  However, you may sometimes find other subject guides useful for related topics. 

Early Career Hub: Chartered College of Teaching:

Essential resources for trainee teachers

The Early Career Hub contains articles, interactive content and high-quality classroom footage created by teachers and academics, aligned to the Early Career Framework and Teachers’ Standards and tailored to the needs of early career teachers. The Early Career Hub is available free to all student teachers and NQT members of the Chartered College

Membership is free for trainee teachers – for 12 months, or until you finish your course, whichever is longer. NQT membership is half price, £1.88 a month. 

Resources on request (RoR)


Your Library, your resources on request 

From Monday 20th July, you can now request items via Library Search to collect from Adsetts Library. You will be able to request items to collect at Collegiate Library from Monday 27th July. You can also return Library items to either site. Please see the Click & Collect and Returning items page for full details.

If you cannot find and access the item you need using Library Search or your subject guide, please make a request using the forms on this page and we will do our best to provide you with online access or suggest alternative resources within one working day.

For books and other media use the RoR request form: bit.ly/libraryror

For journal articles use the Document Supply Services request form

We can provide access to electronic books, book chapters, journal articles or media such as film and TV recordings.

Please note you will need to complete the form for each item you require.

Resources On Request (ROR) is an emergency service that we have developed in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we adapt our services to support your learning, teaching and research off-campus.

If you would like something added to the library collection for Autumn 2020 please Suggest a Purchase.

 

Meanwhile, Back in the Library...

Meanwhile, Back in the Library...  Was an exhibition and series of events in the library to celebrate the richness and value of comics.  The exhibition is over but you can find out more about how comics can be used for teaching and learning, and for working with children, from the exhibition website. Here is a small selection of great comic books from our collections:

Key library databases for education

These are the most used education databases.  Use them to find the latest research in education and related subjects.  Go to Education journals, Autism journals and Research pages for a wider choice of databases.

Education on Twitter

Education news feeds

Department for Education

Loading ...

Guardian Education

Loading ...

BBC Education

Loading ...

Library teaching feedback

Please help us improve our teaching by completing this short feedback form.