Skip to main content

Health

COVID-19 Advice

COVID-19 update

Please check the latest Sheffield Hallam University Coronavirus (COVID-19) advice for staff and students. 


The health and safety of students and staff is our top priority. In line with national public health guidance regarding COVID-19, and to protect you and help stop the spread of coronavirus, Adsetts and Collegiate libraries closed on 5pm Monday 23rd March until further notice.

Please check our dedicated online guide for more information and to find out how to make the most of your library off-campus.

If you cannot get online from home, access specialist software, or the other learning resources you need to complete assessments or prepare for examinations, please contact Hallam Help.

Resources on request (RoR)

Your Library, your resources on request (RoR)

If you cannot find and access the item you need using Library Search or your subject guide, please make a request using this form and we will do our best to provide you with electronic access or suggest alternative resources within one working day.

RoR request form: bit.ly/libraryror

We can provide access to electronic books, book chapters, journal articles or media such as film and TV recordings.

Please note you will need to complete this form for each item you require.

Your Library is working closely with publishers to extend access to online resources and an up to date list is available on our guide: you can now access more eBooks section. 

Resources On Request (ROR) is an emergency service that we have developed in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we adapt our services to support your learning, teaching and research off-campus.

If you would like something added to the library collection for September 2020 please Suggest a Purchase.

 

About And Using This Guide

Welcome to the subject guide for the Allied Health Professions (AHP). The guide includes resources and information for Diagnostic Radiography, Therapeutic Radiography and Oncology, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Operating Department Practice and Paramedic Science. It also includes resources on Healthcare Management and Leadership.

The guide is intended to help you find books and journal articles and will give you some tips about using information resources. It brings together all the relevant resources for your subject area, to save you time looking for them yourself. It also contains information about Professional Bodies and other organisations relevant to the professions.

Using the guide: Look to the left of this box: you will see the tabs indicating the sections, with a drop down menu underneath. Simply click on the relevant tab and this will give you the menu where you can choose your option. In the 'Journal Databases' tab you will find links to the relevant databases for AHP research. It is important to use these for your academic work as they contain the most up to date research for your field.

Depending on your topic of study, you may find these other guides useful too:

Biosciences & Chemistry

Education & Autism

Food & Nutrition (particularly for Dietetics and Occupational Therapy)

Nursing & Midwifery

Sport (particularly for Physiotherapy)

Big Read Survey

Digimap Society

NHS Athens

What is NHS Athens?
With your Athens Username & password, healthcare students from the date of commencement of an education programme which involves practice and placement within NHS provider services, for the duration of their programme are able to access additional NHS databases and journals online. You should  receive an email in your first year early in semester 1 detailing the username & password.

What are the benefits?

Some of the databases are the same as at SHU (e.g. CINAHL, MEDLINE) but there are some that may provide additional information e.g. EMBASE.  When you login to NICE journals and databases you will see a list of what is on offer. If you intend to work within the NHS, these resources will become your professional library.

You can also access e-Learning for Healthcare, an education programme for the NHS workforce providing e-learning to educate and train the health and social care workforce.

What is my username?

Your NHS Athens username is nhsacshu followed by your Sheffield Hallam Unversity username, e.g. nhsacshub1234567.  If you don't know your password, go to the forgotten password page and enter your SHU email address (e.g. b1234567@my.shu.ac.uk) to be emailed a replacement password.  Contact athens-help@shu.ac.uk if you have any problems. New NHS OpenAthens accounts were set up 11 Jan 2019.

NB: Staff need to contact athens-help@shu.ac.uk  to ask for an account to be created.

HCPC - Ethical Framework (SCPE)