Skip to main content

Nursing and Midwifery

Welcome

Welcome to the subject guide for Nursing and Midwifery. Here you'll find help locating books and articles together with tips about using the resources listed under the Journals and Databases tab.  New books recently added to the Collegiate Library are also located within this guide.

Article Databases

A bibliographic database indexes the contents of academic journals and allows you to find out which journals have published articles about a particular topic.  You will find your key databases by selecting the Journals and Databases tab which also includes evidence based medicine (EBM) resources e.g. The Cochrane Library.

Image credit: Sheffield Hallam University

COVID-19 advice

COVID-19 update

Please check the latest Sheffield Hallam University Coronavirus (COVID-19) advice for staff and students. 


The health and safety of students and staff is our top priority. In line with national public health guidance regarding COVID-19, and to protect you and help stop the spread of coronavirus, Adsetts and Collegiate libraries closed on 5pm Monday 23rd March until further notice.

Please check our dedicated online guide for more information and to find out how to make the most of your library off-campus.

If you cannot get online from home, access specialist software, or the other learning resources you need to complete assessments or prepare for examinations, please contact Hallam Help.

Resources on Request (RoR)


Your Library, your resources on request 

If you cannot find and access the item you need using Library Search or your subject guide, please make a request using the forms on this page and we will do our best to provide you with electronic access or suggest alternative resources within one working day.

For books and other media use the RoR request form: bit.ly/libraryror

For journal articles use the Document Supply Services request form

We can provide access to electronic books, book chapters, journal articles or media such as film and TV recordings.

Please note you will need to complete the form for each item you require.

Your Library is working closely with publishers to extend access to online resources and an up to date list is available on our guide: you can now access more eBooks section. 

Resources On Request (ROR) is an emergency service that we have developed in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we adapt our services to support your learning, teaching and research off-campus.

If you would like something added to the library collection for Autumn 2020 please Suggest a Purchase.

 

Finding Information: Online Subject Support with your Librarian

If you would like some help with finding materials to support your studies, including searching databases you can get support from a librarian for your subject area. 

Get in touch with us.

NMC news incl. Revalidation

From 1 April 2016, revalidation is the new process that all nurses and midwives will need to go through in order to renew their registration with the NMC. 

You can find everything you need to know by visiting the revalidation site. Resources include presentations on CPD, feedback, reflective accounts, reflective discussion and confirmation. There is also guidance on how to store your completed reflective discussion and confirmation forms in either paper or electronic format.

Nursing and Midwifery Council - Latest news from the NMC

NMC Code for Nurses and Midwives

Midwives - NMC new guidance

Royal College of Nursing on Twitter

News: Midwifery

Loading ...

News: BBC Health

Loading ...

Health Education England (HEE) on Twitter

Royal College of Midwives