Skip to main content

Making the most of your Library on and off-campus

The online Library

Library Search logo

The Library has a range of resources that can be accessed online and off campus:

  • over 450,000 eBooks.
  • over 98,000 e-journals.
  • 378 databases and specialist resources.
  • SHUPlayer.

How do I login to library resources?

Many of the Library online resources are only accessible to Sheffield Hallam University students and staff. You can access the resources by using your SHU network username and password. If the resource does not work with your SHU network, there will be details on how to login on the Library Search record or the listing of the database in the A-Z list of databases.

If you have difficulties accessing Library resources off-campus then get in contact with the Library for support.

How to access Library resources off-campus

Here is a short video on how to access Library resources off campus.

Sign into Library Search to make it easier to access full text

Why should I sign in?

  • To get access to licensed electronic resources.
  • To get better search results. Some sources will not return results to Library Search if you are not signed in.
  • To request books and other resources.
  • To set your preferences, e.g. choose the number of search results you would like to see on each page.
  • To add items from your search results to your favourites and save whole searches to look at again later.
  • To set up alerts so that you receive an email automatically if there is a new item that matches your search criteria.

Remember to sign out, though, so your searches remain private and your personal settings cannot be adjusted by anyone else.

How do I sign in?

Login to MyHallam first and then click on the Library link at the top of the page. You should now be at Library Gateway. You can click on the My Library Account link at the top of the Library Gateway before you start searching. Click on the option for Hallam Staff and Students and enter your normal login details.

Once logged in you can then click on New Search to run your searches.

New Search

Alternatively, if you have run a search already, click on the appropriate Sign in link on the green bar above the search results.

sign in link

How to find online resources in Library Search: eBooks and journal articles

There are many online resources available within Library Search. Here are three steps to help you find the information you need.

  • Step 1: Type into Library Search your keywords eg building information modelling.

For example, a search on the 13th March 2020, found 1,035,833  results for building information modelling.

  • Step 2: Select the option for Online under the Availability filter.

For example, after you have clicked on the Online filter, you will now have 1,035,794 online search results.

  • Step 3: You can then filter by the Content type for the information you need.

For example, if you were looking for online books related to building information modelling, you can apply the Book / eBook filter and you will then find 1,775 eBooks.

You can reset the search by removing the Active filters at the top left hand side of the screen and apply new filters to find online journal articles.

For example, if you were looking for online journal articles, you should remove the Book / eBook filter and then apply the Articles filter. You will then find 529,010 results. You can also apply the Peer-reviewed journals filter to limit your search to peer-reviewed journals.

How to find online journals

The quickest way to find a specific eJournal in Library Search is to search using the Advanced Search option.

You can find the Advanced search option under the Library Search Simple Search box. You can search for a specific journal by typing the journal name into the Any field search box and limiting to the material type to Journal/eJournal

For example:

Screenshot showing the Advanced Search page and the Material Type has been filtered to Journal/eJournal.

Using Browse eJournals

You can browse the Library collection of online journals using Browse eJournals. The journals are arranged into subject areas eg Biomedical and Health Sciences. You can browse within the sections to find out more about journals within these subject areas.

Browse eJournals is a very visual way of displaying journal titles for example, you will be able to see the Journal covers and then click on the image to browse the journal by volume or issue.

You will then see the table of contents for each issue and you can go direct to the article by clicking on the article title and following the on screen instructions. 

If you are using a specialist resource e.g. a journal database and you want to access the full text of the journal article, you may need to click on the SHULinks button to access the full text article. 

What is SHULinks?

SHULinks is a software product which automatically links together online databases. It takes information from one resource and uses it to build links to other services that have related content. For example, we can link results of searches in indexing databases to the electronic journals which contain the full text of the articles found. Whenever you see the button simply click on it to see a menu of options. These options may include links to the full text of an article.

How to find databases and specialist resources

You can find database and specialist resources on the Library subject guides. We recommend using the resources via the subject guides as the guide will provide context to why the resource has been selected and the benefits of using the resources.

Not all databases will be listed on each subject guide! However you can find details of all the databases and specialist resources that the Library subscribes to on the A to Z list of databases page! Currently there are over 370 entries on this list!

What if the resource I need is not available electronically?

Document Supply Service

Please note: The advice here about access to the Document Supply Service may be subject to change during the outbreak of Coronavirus (COVID-19).

You can use the free Document Supply Services to obtain books, journal articles or other resources not available in the Libraries.

Distance Learner Support Service

Please note: The advice here about access to the Distance Learner Support Service may be subject to change during the outbreak of Coronavirus (COVID-19).

The Distance Learner Support Service provides support for the following students:

  • Students on designated distance learning courses.
  • Students referred to the service by their faculty.
  • Students referred to the service by Disabled Student Support .
  • Students referred to the service by the Inclusive Support Team.

This is an opt-in service. To be eligible for this service you must be one of the following:

  • a student on a designated distance learning course.
  • a student referred to the service by their faculty.
  • a student referred to the service by Disabled Student Support.
  • a student referred to the service by the Inclusive Support Team.